PDA

View Full Version : C or Java as a first language

CorJava
10-20-2002, 12:33 AM
I am considering using C or Java as a first language. Which would be easier to learn first? You may think its ridiculous for someone to come to a C forum and ask for a comparison with another language. But, I am not asking which is superior, but rather which is better for a beginner. I've heard many say Java is easier to learn than C++. But I'm just talking about C. I haven't seen any C/Java comparisons really. Just C++ and Java. I guess thats because C++ is OO like Java. I figured if I am going to learn OOP, I might as well use Java since it is more simple than C++. However as I am a beginner, OOP might not be a good idea for me yet. So, in that case, maybe I should go with C. To the contrary, I've heard C has these things called pointers(is that like a goto type thing?), that are often very difficult for beginners to comprehend; while Java lacks that.So my decision has been narrowed down to C or Java, which should I start with? As you can see, I need some guidance in this decision. I appreciate any help you can give me.

PS:
Although I am pretty much set on using one of these two languages, I am open to some other suggestions if I happen to be terribly mistaken in my selections.

daticus
10-20-2002, 12:49 AM
Go with C, there are some concept in Java that might overwhelm u if this is your first language; stuff like inheirtance, polymorphisim.

Right now i'm re-learning C and it's perfect for any beginner.

Troll_King
10-20-2002, 12:55 AM
You need to acquire a compiler to use C/C++. The book to get is C++ Primer 3rd edition. It's a 1,200 page book and it will give you a full introduction to C++ like no other book on this planet. It's the most comprehensive book on C++, and it is aimed at beginner/intermediate.

The C programming language is the easiest to learn, but you might be able to learn it through C++.