PDA

View Full Version : Gfx / Games PROBLEM...



(TNT)
10-07-2001, 04:51 AM
Hi,

I am having a lot of problems playing games on my newly built PC, after installing a game and running it, the game will run for around 1 min, sometime more sometimes less, then it will crash completely.

I have formatted since this first occured but this didnt effect it.

So i was left with the conclusion that any game which changes screen res e.t.c will crash after a few seconds of execution.

So i have thought about my DirectX Drivers, i reinstalled DirectX 8.
That didnt work.

So i tried running games from a different cd rom.
Didnt work.

I am using a geforce 256 card, and that was working fine in my old system, so i no it isnt a gfx card problem.

So i wanderd about installing new drivers, i dl one from nvidia(the win98 one) and it was corrupt.

So im out of ideas...

What is casueing this problem??
I cant find any answers anywhere.

Thanks v. much if any one can help

Salem
10-07-2001, 05:15 AM
Hard to say.

Are you overclocking the CPU?

Are you running the RAM too fast, with too few wait states or too few refresh cycles?

Will windows run if you just leave it alone?

I found this....
http://www.zdnet.co.uk/pcmag/labs/1999/02/utils/page07.html

(TNT)
10-07-2001, 05:26 AM
Hi,

Thanks, i am not overclocking my pc, i set it up in the bios to run exactly @ 1.4 which it is, however you mentioned about ram problems. I am using to 256 chips from my old one then i added a new 256 chip of crucial.(512mb now). Now if i use norton hardware thingi to test my ram. It gives me an error. Which i think is from the new chip as the old ones were fine. There all the same type though. So maybe that chip is faulty?

Would it be worth me removing that chip and testing without it?.

Windows will run 100% fine, as well as all my other programs.

Its just games. Also thanks for that util but i cant really be botherd to pay for it at the moment.

Thanks
TNT

Salem
10-07-2001, 05:46 AM
> Would it be worth me removing that chip and testing without it?.
certainly worth trying each one individually

(TNT)
10-07-2001, 07:45 AM
Hi,

I have removed the dogi ram chip. Norton now says that the ram is fine. And i have got a couple of games to work, however my best game, max payne dosnt (neither does hitman e.t.c).

In max payne i can load it up and start playing but as soon as an enemy appears, bang the game crashes in hitman the game just crashes after a few mins.

Any more ideas?

no-one
10-07-2001, 10:51 AM
in hitman can you get past the menu?

SilentStrike
10-07-2001, 11:13 AM
It's an AMD right? I am having recurring problems with mine as well... it won't manage to keep stable for more than a week or two. I really need a CD burner so I can more easily reinstall all my crap for the weekly OS reinstall.

(TNT)
10-07-2001, 12:48 PM
Hi,

yer in hitman i can start to play the game for about 2 mins then crash. Same in max payne.

Yer im on an amd 1.4

Thanks
TNT

no-one
10-07-2001, 12:50 PM
have you updated your boards chipset drivers?
is the bios up to date?

(TNT)
10-07-2001, 01:23 PM
OMG,

I just clocked it down 200mhz to 1.2 and she works like a beast lol, no crashes nothing. Why is this? i mean i payed for a 1.4 shoudnt it work at that?

I havnt updated the chipset drivers no, but the board is only 1 mounth old. What should i do

Thanks
TNT

-KEN-
10-07-2001, 01:31 PM
heh, that sucks...I dunno...it was being overworked, I guess. Try overclocking a little bit by a little bit until you're back up to around where you were, and it's still working peachy.

by the way, you're site seems to be down...

(TNT)
10-07-2001, 02:27 PM
ok, cheers ken

I no my sites down infact the old one has gone, now i have a new .com. That i think is down as well! lol

Cheers
TNT

rick barclay
10-07-2001, 03:00 PM
Keep it at 1.2 and consider yourself lucky. What would you
do with and extra .2 Mhz anyway?

rick barclay

basilisk
10-07-2001, 03:23 PM
what operating system are you running on? if ME then there is a new detonator driver out for the geforce (i think it can be used for win98 too)