PDA

View Full Version : Math and Programming

RoD
10-07-2002, 01:29 PM
I have noticed alot of math topics recently, and being as i am not nearly the best in math it makes me wonder if going for my CS degree is going to work out, opinions?

BMJ
10-07-2002, 01:49 PM
Don't let math scare you...

To tell the truth, I started doing much better with math in parallel with programming; Both will teach you to think logically, and they can be analogous to each other.

When I began reading about C/C++ I was a pretty average/sub-average math student; Now, I've found that understanding math is no harder than understanding logic! Programming opened that door up for me! :) :D

Driveway
10-07-2002, 01:51 PM
I've never had any problems in math so I couldn't realate. ANyways... BMJ, what happend to your bannana?

BMJ
10-07-2002, 01:55 PM
Homer ate him :( :(

RoD
10-07-2002, 02:07 PM
damn that homer!

hmm, well i barely skated by in buisness math (percents and fractions **** me up).

I failed the math section for 12th grade state exam by like 6 points...

And i'll probably have to take trig and such in college. I am also worried because due to my lack of math skills i was never placed in algebra 1 or up and almost every college i want requires that...

Terrance11
10-07-2002, 02:10 PM
Originally posted by Ride -or- Die
damn that homer!

hmm, well i barely skated by in buisness math (percents and fractions **** me up).

I failed the math section for 12th grade state exam by like 6 points...

And i'll probably have to take trig and such in college. I am also worried because due to my lack of math skills i was never placed in algebra 1 or up and almost every college i want requires that...

If you don't like math, you're not going to like programming much either.

You don't need great math skills to program, just because you don't know calculus well doesn't mean you can't program. Just means you can't program using calculus in your algorithms.