PDA

View Full Version : KaZaA Spyware/Rapeware(?)



Davros
10-03-2002, 08:55 AM
I was pondering whether to install KaZaA so that I could download some MP3s. BUT THEN I found this:

http://www.imilly.com/kazaa.htm

Have a look, especially at the BDE Annual Report extract near the bottom of the page. It scared the hell of me. What does everyone else think?

Govtcheez
10-03-2002, 09:07 AM
If you want Kazaa w/o the spyware and stuff, look for Kazaa lite.

codingmaster
10-03-2002, 09:38 AM
I'm gonna upload my page soon.
There, you can find in the Spyware section a list off spyware servers, that you can add to the windows directory.
It blocks the spyware servers.

Don't use Kazaa -> Use Kazaa Lite!!!

Cshot
10-03-2002, 11:04 AM
I heard about that. I keep forgetting to uninstall my kazaa and then reinstalling with kazaa lite.

Shadow
10-03-2002, 11:13 AM
KaZaA Lite is pretty good. I have that one.
If any of you haven't heard of WinMX I suggest checking that one out as it makes KaZaA look like childsplay.

RoD
10-03-2002, 12:29 PM
kazza lite still has some spyware. Alot of people don't realize this, i don't care how much they say they don't , they do.

Cshot
10-03-2002, 01:01 PM
Oh? Where'd you hear about that?

laughman
10-03-2002, 01:02 PM
I have one thing to say about this **** KazAa it has to be the lamest crap ever heh.

RoD
10-03-2002, 01:06 PM
i didn't hear about it, i wanted to prove to my friends that they didn't remove it all. You can use port scanners, netstat, network scanners, etc

These tools, while kazzalite is running, will eventually give u suspicous information, and soon it goes from one to two to four and so on, trace them up and bam, its spyware ala kazzalite.

It took almost 3 hours running kazzaa for me to detect one, but i proved it.

Aran
10-03-2002, 01:27 PM
uh... why don't you have a firewall?

can the kazaa spyware penetrate a firewall?

RoD
10-03-2002, 01:51 PM
1) I do have a firewall.

2) Yes, it opens ports locally. If kazzaa is allowed to run thru the wall, so is the spy ware.

no-one
10-04-2002, 12:39 PM
use Direct Connect and WinMX, neither have spyware and DC has many times the data volume, they have stats on their front page.

RoD
10-04-2002, 01:55 PM
use Direct Connect

got a link?

salvelinus
10-04-2002, 02:07 PM
I read about one of these programs, think it was Kazaa, where another thing it does is disable your anti-spam/spyware software like AdAware. Of course, it doesn't tell you this, at least anywhere not obvious to a non lawyer.

no-one
10-04-2002, 08:17 PM
Direct Connect can be found here,

http://www.neo-modus.com/

haha i just cant wait thill they rights protect their spyware and it becoes a DMCA violation to disable it.

RoD
10-04-2002, 08:25 PM
thnx man.