PDA

View Full Version : Code Tags



Just wondering
10-01-2002, 01:55 PM
Just wondering if it would be possible to have code tags, separated by "paste code here" automatically appear on every message form. That might save some work for Kermi.

Shadow
10-01-2002, 02:14 PM
Hit post reply.
Hit the pound sign.
There you go.

Magos
10-01-2002, 02:44 PM
He wasn't refering to himself, but to all others not knowing/caring about the CodeTag function.
Actually, it seems like a good idea. Annoying for people posting in GD perhaps, but that's their problem :p

Shadow
10-01-2002, 02:48 PM
Good point Magos.

I thought for a second he was refering to an automatic code tag formatting option, or possibly implimenting something into the board that does it automatically with no user interaction, but I'm not sure of the specifics of this. Besides that, I wasn't exactly sure on what the original poster meant. Duely noted.

Good idea.

Cshot
10-01-2002, 02:56 PM
Hahah, I've never seen that code tag button before. I've always typed it out :o

Hammer
10-01-2002, 02:58 PM
Originally posted by Just wondering
Just wondering if it would be possible to have code tags, separated by "paste code here" automatically appear on every message form. That might save some work for Kermi.
What would be nice, is if people would read the FAQs, announcements and stickies before they make their first post. :)

>>Hit the pound sign.
Oh man, you mean the hash sign! :D

Moving to GD, as this isn't for the C forum.

kermi3
10-01-2002, 03:30 PM
Unfortunatly I don't think that is possible due to the way vbulliten is made. You're talking about a fundamental change to it's code i bet. Which we probably couldn't do, but even if we could it would be illegal to alter their program like that I bet. I don't have the contract in front of me, webmaster has it, but I bet we couldn't do it.

lightatdawn
10-01-2002, 03:37 PM
>>I don't think that is possible
>>Which we probably couldn't do
>>illegal to alter
>>but I bet we couldn't do it

So, what are you saying here? I'm confused... Can we do this or not?

>>code i bet
>>that I bet
>>but I bet

You a gambling my Kermi?

...

*wonders about the intelligence of provoking the powers that be* Oh well, too late now... :D

RoD
10-01-2002, 03:45 PM
u could write a script telling it to execute the code tag placement function on load and still be legal.

endo
10-01-2002, 05:16 PM
Originally posted by kermi3
Unfortunatly I don't think that is possible due to the way vbulliten is made. You're talking about a fundamental change to it's code i bet. Which we probably couldn't do, but even if we could it would be illegal to alter their program like that I bet. I don't have the contract in front of me, webmaster has it, but I bet we couldn't do it.

Isn't vBulliten 3 in development as we speak? Maybe you could suggest it Kermi3.....


Hahah, I've never seen that code tag button before. I've always typed it out

Yup, never saw it either :(
Bad interface design obviously!

kermi3
10-01-2002, 05:50 PM
Perhaps the webmaster will...he owes the lisence....but it's an awful specfic detail for them...considering how broad vbulliten is...we'll see.

ygfperson
10-01-2002, 05:55 PM
Step 1: Search for '#' in all VB code
Step 2: Figure out which one is the hash/pound sign that makes the code tag caption
Step 3: Replace '#' with 'Coder' or 'Code tags' or something equally meaningful

that is, if we can, under the current license

RoD
10-01-2002, 06:16 PM
you just have to read the license and find a hole.

kermi3
10-01-2002, 06:44 PM
but I use the # sign! ~ maybe....we'll see. webmaster doesn't generally like mesing with VB code.

RoD
10-01-2002, 06:48 PM
hmm, what if someone did it for him?

i dunno i remember tags to i'm not too worried bout it

kermi3
10-01-2002, 07:30 PM
he doesn't like messing with it becuase why mess with what's all in all working? Do we want more outages? somone typing # or ~ or whatever is the same as typing [ code ], you still have to read the FAQ etc to do it. So I don't really see a diffrence...