PDA

View Full Version : Unreal Tournament 2k3 Demo...



Cheeze-It
09-13-2002, 10:28 PM
Was just released. I just started downloading it. I should have it
in about 6 hours (frickin' 56k. I'll have DSL again by the end of
October, though)... Luckily it's night time and I have to go work,
anyway. By the time I get home.. Woohoo!

http://www.unrealtournament2003.com/?downloads

MrWizard
09-13-2002, 11:01 PM
I wonder if its single player only or a multi-player edition. I hope its online. I am downloading , only 30 more minutes!

xds4lx
09-13-2002, 11:19 PM
Im at 75% :-p damn **** keeps getting slower though :( started downloading at 85k a sec now its down to 38.2

xds4lx
09-13-2002, 11:42 PM
done now installing so see u later :-p

BMJ
09-13-2002, 11:46 PM
<- not getting DSL installed until next week (been without broadband connection for over a year and a half! :()

xds4lx
09-13-2002, 11:59 PM
damn it, it wont connect to the master server oh well. played a round against bots, pretty impresive graphics.

Cheeze-It
09-14-2002, 04:56 AM
Crap! Something screwie happened. The file is only showing it's
size as 83.6MB. When I click on it, it says "not a valid win32
application..."

I guess I'll try downloading it again. I guess I'll wait 5 more hours.
Maybe I'll go to sleep for a while. Frickin...

Tuesday I'm going to resubscribe to DSL.

Cheeze-It
09-14-2002, 04:57 AM
Originally posted by xds4lx
damn it, it wont connect to the master server oh well. played a round against bots, pretty impresive graphics.

What're the specs of your computer? Will these graphics still
be "pretty impressive" on a Geforce 3 Ti-200 (good framerate,
nice resolution)?

endo
09-14-2002, 06:04 AM
Originally posted by ethic
Crap! Something screwie happened. The file is only showing it's
size as 83.6MB. When I click on it, it says "not a valid win32
application..."

I guess I'll try downloading it again. I guess I'll wait 5 more hours.
Maybe I'll go to sleep for a while. Frickin...

Tuesday I'm going to resubscribe to DSL.

I hate it when you've waited that long for a download, maybe you should wait for it to appear on the cover of a magazine.....

RoD
09-14-2002, 06:07 AM
I never had dsl or cable but i'm getting cable soon as i get a job.

you call a geforce impressive??? pbbth i don't care if they sold out i'll stick to my voodoo 5 thank you.

Cheeze-It
09-14-2002, 09:38 AM
Bleh, Voodoo 5. Wasn't that Geforce 2's rival? There's been the
Geforce 3, Raden 8500, Geforce 4, and now Radeon 9700 (which
I'll probably get before Christmas :)) since then... Get with the
times, man!!! :)

27 minutes more... Argh!!!

xds4lx
09-14-2002, 09:39 AM
My PC is an AMD Athlon XP 1900+, 512mb pc 21000 ram, Geforce3 TI500, sound blaster audigy, epox 8kha+ mb.

BMJ
09-14-2002, 10:50 AM
Hmmm... which should I go with guys? A GeForce4 TI4600 or an ATI Radeon 9700?

The Radeon is DX9 compliant and kick a$$ (20gb/sec mem bandwidth!) but about $350 while the GeForce4 TI4600 is still an impressive card and only about $250...

if you had $250 but could get $350, which would you go with?

(btw: UT2K3 doesn't still support Glide does it?)

MrWizard
09-14-2002, 01:06 PM
Originally posted by BMJ
Hmmm... which should I go with guys? A GeForce4 TI4600 or an ATI Radeon 9700?

The Radeon is DX9 compliant and kick a$$ (20gb/sec mem bandwidth!) but about $350 while the GeForce4 TI4600 is still an impressive card and only about $250...

if you had $250 but could get $350, which would you go with?

(btw: UT2K3 doesn't still support Glide does it?)

I'd get the Ti4600. The ATI Drivers are garbage (IMO). My friend has that card and it constantly locks up in Warcraft III.

I have been playing UT2K3 a lot. Everything server related works fine for me. I have a GeForce2 Ultra and it is smooth as silk. Anyways, if you guys want to meet up on a server let me know!!

crag2804
09-14-2002, 01:09 PM
There is no competition in quality of card, the 9700 beats the Nvidia best by miles in everything. Add to that DX9 support, 6X FSAA ( both super and multisampling ) and 16X anistropic filtering and you've got the best card around today. Definatly worth the extra $100.

maes
09-14-2002, 03:12 PM
Let's see if I can run this on mi PIII 500, tnt2 and 256MB ram :D
I guess not, but I'm trying anyway

Cheeze-It
09-14-2002, 03:22 PM
I finally got it... Took almost 12 hours of downloading (first time
didn't work. Got it again from Atari). I can't wait until the full
version comes out...

Anybody who plans on getting it: Go through ebgames.com. They're
selling it for $39.99, $10 cheaper than Gamestop.


get the Ti4600. The ATI Drivers are garbage (IMO). My friend has that card and it constantly locks up in Warcraft III.


The Radeon 9700 is getting great reviews from everybody; even
Carmack. The Radeon 9700 was the official card of this years
QuakeCon.

Look at all the released Doom 3 pictures. All of those were taken
from a Pentium 4 2.2Ghz, Radeon 9700 PRO machine

I'll probably get one soon...

maes
09-14-2002, 03:33 PM
Why would they let you download the unreal demo, about a 100MB and the server speed is limited to 50kB/sec :mad: I can go much faster

RoD
09-14-2002, 04:41 PM
gforce 2's rival?? bleh in terms of when they came out yes, in terms of graphics hell no. I have three friends who have all the newest gfroces all tweaked out and none of them have been able to beat mines graphics, as far as a good nvidia i'll believe it when i see it.

SilentStrike
09-14-2002, 11:24 PM
I posted the Linux version on my LUG's server. It's sitting right next to my univerisities backbone, so it's likely to get to ya REAL fast :).

Linux version here (ftp://ruslug.rutgers.edu/pub/games/3d/ut2003/UT2003-demo-Linux.sh.bin)

endo
09-15-2002, 06:11 AM
Reading this makes me realise how much I need to upgrade. My PIII 800, 128MB RAM and TNT2 just isn't cutting it anymore :(

I need a better graphics crad, more RAM, a bigger hard drive, faster CPU - dammit, I may as well buy a whole new machine!

RoD
09-15-2002, 07:52 AM
endo that stopped cutting it a while ago :P

My grandparents bought me a 500mhz p3 from dell, after a few years(like 2) of having it i put it in the basement as a server. Then a few weeks ago built my new one.

Pentium 4 2.2ghz Northwood @ 3.0ghz
ASUS Something Motherboard
Liquid cooling by Arctic Systems
2 gigs RAMBUS
Western Digital Terabyte Hard Drive. (1000gb)
Soundblaster Audigy
Iomega ZIP
TDK 20x CD\DVD-RW
Rockwell IDSN Modem
Voodoo 5 5500 AGP (all tweaked out to keep up lol)
Acer DVD drive
DELL 19 inch flat screen moniter
Logitech Laser mouse
Dell Quiet key keyboard
300w power box-dual fan

i don't think i missed anything.

BMJ
09-15-2002, 12:08 PM
I'm going to go with the Radeon 9700! w00t w00t!

Going to order a whole new system later.... one of the most fun things to do on the net!

*drool*

BMJ
09-15-2002, 12:13 PM
oh oh! and I'll get one of those trippy silver cases with the window, neon lights, and a 500watt PSU :cool: :cool:

Cheeze-It
09-15-2002, 02:38 PM
Originally posted by BMJ
w00t w00t!



Argh! I still don't understand that! Is it suppose to be like "Woohoo!"...?

If so, what is the purpose of the "t"...? What the freak is a woot?

RoD
09-15-2002, 02:40 PM
its, in the great wisdom of Homer Simpson:

WOOHOO and

DOH

Woot is the lamer version of homer's wisdom :P

BMJ
09-15-2002, 03:31 PM
:) I love Homer's witty remarks and catch-phrases. I just picked up w00ting a long while ago when I actually thought CS was cool :cool: (long, long while ago)

BMJ
09-15-2002, 03:37 PM
Oh, and I also still have a Voodoo5, I'm looking at it right now; man, this thing has had some major use. Voodoo5s has one oddity which make them so awesome (besides the native Glide API and incredible image quality), and that is that they don't bottleneck at 1ghz (like the GeForce2 when it was new), a Voodoo5 just hauls ass when you're on +1ghz. My buddy with a GeForce3 was stunned when I told him I was using a V5 at a lan party once, he was impressed with the smoothness and wonderful image, he thought they were junk! (as it's preached by so many)

In conclusion; don't bash the Voodoo5, yes I admit that now with the Radeon 9700 they are showing age (DirectX wise, they're sub-par) but hell, I'd still use it!

RoD
09-15-2002, 03:38 PM
homer kicks ass rofl.

"Hello my name is mr. burns, i beleive u have a package for me"

Ok mr burns whats your first name

"....i don't know."

RoD
09-15-2002, 03:39 PM
voodoo 5's can beat em all with a lil tweaking. it'll take more then gforce to beat this

Clyde
09-15-2002, 04:42 PM
...... voodoo 5 benchmarks were about comparable with the Geforce DDR, and paled in comparison to the Geforce 2 GTS (heavens even the original Radeon beats it), i dont think your statement really holds up.

The only thing it had going for it was its FSAA, but that was long ago washed aside by later Geforces, there really is no comparison between a Geforce 4 and a Voodoo 5.

frenchfry164
09-15-2002, 07:45 PM
I think he's just trying to make himself feel better about having a Voodoo card ::)

terrabyte HD? are you kidding?

ygfperson
09-15-2002, 07:45 PM
i have a voodoo3 3000...

i can't play unreal2003 or america's army. i think my video card is soon to be replaced.

RoD
09-16-2002, 03:54 AM
no i'm serious bout the terrabyte, i actually have two because my dad put on in my server pc. The one in my pc is now a 20gig because the terrabyte is acting weird i gotta fix it.

I love my voodoo, and u can benchmark the hell outta em both, i'll still come out ahead performance wise.

Clyde
09-16-2002, 05:26 AM
benchmarks = performance

SilentStrike
09-16-2002, 11:01 AM
I've gone the next mile. The ruslug box is actually hosting a ut2k3 server now. If anyone wants to play (especially if you are on the east coast, gotta love being hosted by a university with a really WIDE pipe), try connecting to

ruslug.rutgers.edu

By opening a console with ~ and then typing open ruslug.rutgers.edu.

It's cool to be able to set up a server on a computer that I've only physically seen once 4 months ago which lacks a monitor.

Commander
09-28-2002, 10:53 PM
I don't know if this is the place to bring a q about UT anymore since the discussion has changed to something totally else, but i'll give it a try anyway. Whenever i try to run UT(demo i downloaded), it gives me an error saying
UT2003 Build UT2003_Build_[2002-09-13_17.31]

OS: Windows 98 4.10 (Build: 67766446)
CPU: GenuineIntel PentiumPro-class processor @ 554 MHz with 127MB RAM
Video: No Video

Direct3DCreate8 failed.

History: CreateDirect3D <- UD3DRenderDevice::Init <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine Anyone know how to fix that?
thankx.

P.S. I'm getting the same message when trying to run in the safe mode.

Cheeze-It
09-29-2002, 10:08 AM
Do you have DirectX 8.1b installed?


You need to have DirectX 8.1b installed to play the game successfully. If you get a crash on startup or at a random time during gamplay, this is likely to be the cause. Download it from Microsoft's DirectX site. -unreal.epic.com

In other news, the game went Gold a little while ago. Should be
in stores on Wednesday. Yippie!

Commander
09-29-2002, 11:40 AM
thankx ethic
i have DX8 but not DX8.1. i'll install it and c if that works.

Cheeze-It
09-29-2002, 01:06 PM
Just checked my email. Ebgames shipped the game to me on
Saturday. Should be at my door on October 1st (Tuesday!!!)...

I'm so excited.. I think I'll go get my Radeon9700Pro on Tuesday,
too. Maybe. Still haven't decided if I'm going to get it... Want it,
though.

Cheeze-It
09-30-2002, 09:29 AM
Cool. The game was just delivered. 3 Freaking discs...