PDA

View Full Version : help with java



qwertiop
09-10-2002, 12:58 PM
I'm trying to set up some java stuff on my computer. I downloaded java sdk 1.4.1 and an IDE (jcreator). problem is, when I go and click the compile button in the IDE, I get errors. I don't think the IDE is linking properly with the compiler. I couldn't find out a way in the IDE to set the directory of the SDK.

I also read that I can compile and execute without an IDE using MSDOS if I add something to the autoexe file. what Do I add?

and does anyone know a good java message board, and/or know any good websites that explain things so its understandable to a layman?

thanks

ober
09-10-2002, 01:03 PM
what kind of errors are you getting?

I use JCreater and it works fine :) And I've never heard of "adding something to the executable" Sounds a little far-fetched to me.

Govtcheez
09-10-2002, 01:07 PM
Sun's site and (I think) JCreator both give simple instructions to get it to work properly - when I get some time, I'll find it.

Magos
09-10-2002, 01:20 PM
Originally posted by qwertiop
I also read that I can compile and execute without an IDE using MSDOS if I add something to the autoexe file. what Do I add?
Do you mean autoexec.bat? I believe you're refering to the CLASSPATH variable, which stores the location of the java classes (I had to modify it for it to work properly).

Yes, you can compile without the IDE. In fact, I believe the IDE executes the DOS commands for compilation when you press the RUN-button (or whatever).

To compile you type: javac filename.java
(make sure you're in the same folder, or type in a valid path+name)

To run the program, type: java filename
(OBS: no extension. Again, make sure the path is correct)

tgm
09-10-2002, 04:51 PM
If you install JCreator after you install the JDK it should find it on it's own. If you did it the other way around (or want to use multiple JDKs ie: 1.3 & 1.4) then go to Configure->Options->JDK Profiles. To compile using the command line just add your jdk\bin directory to your system PATH variable.

/* Edit: I also suggest downloading Sun's Forte IDE. It is an excellent IDE and the community edition is free. */

MethodMan
09-10-2002, 05:08 PM
I believe if you change the autexec.bat, that will allow you to compile your program from any location, instead of just the location of the file.

Also, if you use ms-dos a lot to compile your java programs, you can write a simple bat file to get to the location of your files, instead of typing all the directories every time.