PDA

View Full Version : Unable to start pppd



taps
09-30-2001, 11:39 PM
I am able to connect to the ISP but then the daemon pppd is unable to start .

ANY IDEAS.......

F1 F1 F1.

cody
10-01-2001, 01:36 AM
Hard to say without any failure message. What happens?!

greetings
cody

taps
10-03-2001, 04:09 AM
Thanks

I get the status of the modem saying CONNECTED but then i get the message that COULDN't start.

I just get this and nothing else.

Is it that i have to pass some parameter to it or something.

cody
10-03-2001, 04:57 AM
sorry, i think i can't help u there really :(

Tiger
10-04-2001, 06:56 AM
If you are trying to connect to your ISP as a normal user (i.e. not root), then you may need to make pppd suid. Try this (as root):

chmod +s `which pppd`

It would also help if you posted error messages etc. as we can only guess at your problem.

taps
10-10-2001, 11:26 PM
:)

chmod -s `which pppd` didn't work

it says
sending termination signal 15
and then says
Operation timed out , PPPD couldn't start.



:confused: