PDA

View Full Version : Personal webserver.



adrianxw
07-22-2002, 03:40 AM
Does anyone here run their own webserver, (i.e. has Apache or IIS etc. on their own machine)?

My broadband connection has, (will have, it is not here yet), a fixed IP address, and it occurred to me I could run a server from home rather than using a webhotel.

Fordy
07-22-2002, 05:12 AM
I know Osk & I think TGM both do this........I setup servers for home for both Apache (when messing with JSP) and IIS (For ASP)....

They arent difficult to setup (there's loads of info out there), but I didnt properly link them to the web as I guess the hardest part is keeping the server secure and I dont have too much info or will to do this properly.....and also I'm forced to use dialup so I couldnt deploy them anyway :).....

Troll_King
07-22-2002, 05:33 AM
Why don't you pick up a second hard disk and install a free version of Red Hat 7.3 and use Apache web server on that drive, than keep windows on your other hard drive. With RH 7.3 you can also set up an email server or a file server, ftp server, or database server, plus several other choices.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0764549413/qid=1027337445/sr=8-1/ref=sr_8_1/102-6412228-9627326

I have the previous book RH 7.2 bible and it has a section for each of the servers. I'm bogged down in learning gcc otherwise I would have a file server up already so that I could trade movies.

Kelvin
07-22-2002, 07:42 AM
Don't use IIS
Use Apache 2.0.3x
IIS is not secure at all

Commander
07-22-2002, 08:45 AM
I am using IIS to learn ASP but because i don't have a fixed IP, i can't publish it. my PWS has a lot of problems in it and i don't know how to fix them. I wanted to set up apache, (this may sound stupid) but don't know how to set it up! I hate PWS, most of the simple commands for ASP doesn't work! this is ........ing me off!:mad:

maes
07-22-2002, 09:29 AM
I'm running an apache server on win 2K.

I read in some books that apache on windows isn't very good, but I haven't had any problems with it. everything works fine.

Also, I don't know if you have a domain or not. but if you like a free one that links your IP to the domain (something like: http://www.adrianxw.dyndns.org ) try www.dyndns.org. Sign up and ready to go. Works also if you have a dynamic IP. you just download a small program that takes care of the linking between dyndns and your dynamic IP (this is how I'v done it).

If you have a custom dns (something.com) you must pay a small fee (I believe it is 30$)

::edit::
One remark about the installation af apache that made me doubt a bit. at some point he will ask you about a domain. you can fill in whatever you want. But don't use a domain that allready exist. otherwise you will never be able to go to that domain. example: you can choose your domain to be www.google.com . But everytime you type google, you will end up on your server and not google. I choose mine (advice form Rick Barclay ;) ) www.a.com


-maes

Troll_King
07-22-2002, 04:51 PM
You might have to go to an advanced professional for this information. I recommend Rick Barclay.

tgm
07-22-2002, 05:15 PM
Yes, I run a web server on my own box (Linux). I use apache version 1.3 with updates for now. I don't have a static IP so I'm using www.no-ip.com to do the dynamic DNS for me (it's free :) ). In minutes my server was online and viewable. The only downtime I've had was when my connection was down (seems to happen a lot when raining).

Dual-Catfish
07-22-2002, 11:08 PM
One remark about the installation af apache that made me doubt a bit. at some point he will ask you about a domain. you can fill in whatever you want. But don't use a domain that allready exist. otherwise you will never be able to go to that domain. example: you can choose your domain to be www.google.com . But everytime you type google, you will end up on your server and not google. I choose mine (advice form Rick Barclay ) www.a.com
If this is the case then you can probably go edit your hosts file (C:\Windows\hosts) or (C:\Winnt\hosts) or on Linux I think it's (/etc/hosts) and remove the entry.

Troll_King
07-23-2002, 03:23 AM
What are you going to do then old man?