PDA

View Full Version : questions about windows 2000



Unregistered#2000000
07-20-2002, 11:01 PM
1. Does anyone knows any program that would change the region in WinDVD version 2.3 ??

2. What is Dr.Watson? (Found in System Information).

3. How can you tell your computer specifications (What video card, sound card....etc) without opening the case?

4. For some reason, My computer sets a different password for my connection and i have to change it every time i use it. So, how can I fix that?

Thank you.

Unregistered#2000000
07-20-2002, 11:04 PM
It changes the password for other programs too. Either adds a couple of characters or deletes some.

Zeeshan
07-21-2002, 02:15 PM
Ans2. It has been in Windows since Windows 3.1... If it is running and some error occurs (e.g. a program shuts down pre-maturely) it reports what happened and optionally logs it in a file.

Ans3. Right-click "My Computer" or Your Computer;)
Properties->Hardware->Device Manager or
Control Panel -> System -> Device Manager

Unregistered
07-22-2002, 02:29 AM
1. yes but since it is a hack I won't say.
2. Dr. Watson for Windows 2000 is a program error debugger.

The information obtained and logged by Dr. Watson is the information needed by technical support groups to diagnose a program error for a computer running Windows 2000. A text file (Drwtsn32.log) is created whenever an error is detected, and can be delivered to support personnel by whatever method they prefer. You also have the option of creating a crash dump file, which is a binary file that a programmer can load into a debugger.

If a program error occurs, Dr. Watson will start automatically. To start Dr. Watson, click Start, click Run, and then type drwtsn32. To start Dr. Watson from a command prompt, change to the root directory, and then type drwtsn32.

3. what zeeshan said.
4. don't save the password for a while, which means type it in manually for a bit then save it again. That will most likely do it. Not exactly the most fancy solution but it is the easiest.

sean345
07-22-2002, 02:23 PM
If you tell your computer to automatically connect each time it will add a few charectors to your password so someone else cannot figure out the exact number of charectors and possibly discover your password.

- Sean

Unregistered#2000000
07-23-2002, 12:13 AM
1. yes but since it is a hack I won't say.

Please tell me!



Properties->Hardware->Device Manager or
Control Panel -> System -> Device Manager

That was not what I am looking for but thank you.



4. don't save the password for a while, which means type it in manually for a bit then save it again. That will most likely do it. Not exactly the most fancy solution but it is the easiest.

Even in Norton Antivirus, When I try to run live update and set the connection it deletes half of the password and I can not update it now.



If you tell your computer to automatically connect each time it will add a few charectors to your password so someone else cannot figure out the exact number of charectors and possibly discover your password.

It does not connect automatically but from the first time I made it, it added some characters to the password and ofcourse it ask me to enter the password again after it fails logging into the internet with the password it made up.