PDA

View Full Version : What is your favourite programming or web designing language?

techie
09-27-2001, 12:40 PM
My favourite programming language is C++ because it is easy and that you also have control over your programs and can do more than like what you can do with Visual Basic. :cool: I say this because I am learning C++ for DOS and Windows and I really enjoy doing it even though I am a beginner.

My favourite web language is HTML because it is easy to use, quick, easy to learn and can have JavaScript code and other stuff inserted into it but I do intend to learn many languages.

So if anyone reads this then what is your favourite programming/web designing language and why.

Unregistered
09-27-2001, 04:16 PM
My favorite language is C, but Java comes a close second and C++ running down there in third. The rest: pascal, cobol, perl, python, and BASIC, I hate equally :p

p.s. Why can't I log in anymore?

-Prelude

Theologian
09-27-2001, 04:33 PM
I know I will be so very alone here--

But VB is a great language. It does many things very well and best of all- very, very rapidly. It allows for the most rapid development of windows apps over any language that I have seen.

It makes building front ends for any rdbms incredibly quick.

Everybody always slams VB but I am telling you it is awesome. Not for all tasks-- but for very many it works just fine.

For web development I like java. Java server pages run on tomcat is not a bad way to go as far as I am concerned. JDBC is pretty nice for doing what makes web pages valuable- getting at data.

I'm not too crazy about scripting languages or html. I do like messing around w/XML though. XSL is very fun.

Go ahead and hate me but darn it VB is fun (and it pays the bills).

-KEN-
09-27-2001, 05:26 PM
ewww...VB. I have to do it for school. I hate it.

For general programming I like C, and web programming I like JScript and ASP. (ASP.NET looks really cool)

Fordy
09-28-2001, 12:46 AM