PDA

View Full Version : Command Line path



snakattak
06-27-2002, 08:18 PM
hello,
Quick question. How can I make the command line (i'm not sure if its DOS becasue its XP) recognize one of my own directories as one of its default paths. ie - i made a CAT program for windows/dos, and i would like to be able to execute and use it from any directory i'm currently in, and i don't really want to put it in C:\Windows\system32 or any other of the default paths, so that i can find and debug my own programs easier withought going to those huge directories and finding them. Thanks for the help.

Nick
06-27-2002, 09:32 PM
you can change your path variable. Look up how to change it in xp I think it's like control panel something. Then you would set it to something like c:\bin; %path%

Dual-Catfish
06-27-2002, 10:11 PM
Start->Settings->Control Panel->Advanced->Environmental Variables->System Variables->Path:

Add ;C:\Mypathtosearch

snakattak
06-27-2002, 10:31 PM
thanks, the 2nd one worked.
Now i'll be an efficient MACHINE