PDA

View Full Version : FTP server



Driveway
06-22-2002, 10:53 AM
I am trying to setup a FTP server. I already have the software, bulletproof FTP, but I'm behind a router and Nobody but the host comp can get on. Any suggestions/help?

Unregistered
06-22-2002, 11:18 AM
you have to forward the port your ftp clien will be using...

Driveway
06-22-2002, 11:19 AM
You mean set-up a port, eg the4 default 21? Already did it. Oh yea, be4 anyone asks, I'm not givin the IP address out

Musicdip
06-22-2002, 11:56 AM
Uhhh whats the point of making an ftp for if you dont want anyone to know it?

Unregistered
06-22-2002, 12:00 PM
Originally posted by Driveway
You mean set-up a port, eg the4 default 21? Already did it. Oh yea, be4 anyone asks, I'm not givin the IP address out

you have to tell your router to allow connections in and out along port 21

Driveway
06-22-2002, 12:18 PM
Musicclip, the point is its a FTP server for me and my friend only, we are making a webpage and we need someplace to store files as backup. Unregistered, thanks, haven't tried yet, let ya know if it works.

Hammer
06-22-2002, 02:31 PM
Originally posted by Driveway
I am trying to setup a FTP server. I already have the software, bulletproof FTP, but I'm behind a router and Nobody but the host comp can get on. Any suggestions/help?
OK, but what is you problem exactly?

My ISP will allow me to run an FTP server on port 21, and will forward any incoming requests in the normal manner... nice and simple.

>its a FTP server for me and my friend only
Yeah, and anyone else that scans/finds your server. Be careful to ensure you password it well and ensure it's patched properly... ;) Remember, security cannot be based on ignorance (ie, assuming no-one knows your address is not a good defence).

Driveway
06-22-2002, 02:45 PM
That's exactly why I made none of the useres Admin or something like that and I made the passwords no words with nums

Driveway
06-22-2002, 02:45 PM
Oh yea, plus it will only be up for a couple hours a day

Hammer
06-22-2002, 03:50 PM
OK, so anyways, what is actually wrong/not working?

Mario
06-22-2002, 05:22 PM
>> you have to tell your router to allow connections in and out along port 21

And port 20 for proper authentication

Hammer
06-22-2002, 06:50 PM
Originally posted by Mario
>> you have to tell your router to allow connections in and out along port 21

And port 20 for proper authentication
Authentication is done on 21 (Control Port), data is sent on 20 (Data port). :)

Driveway
06-23-2002, 05:16 AM
No, my port isn't even 21.

Hammer
06-23-2002, 07:52 AM
Originally posted by Driveway
No, my port isn't even 21.
That's a maybe, but how are you controling the data port? Most of the FTP clients I've seen don't allow for anything other than port 20..... go on, prove me wrong ;) :D

Driveway
06-23-2002, 08:12 AM
OK, I've seen a working FTP server with the port 6969. With the same software I'm using, BulletProof FTP

Hammer
06-23-2002, 08:20 AM
OK, fair enough... :)
But you still haven't said what's actually wrong?

Driveway
06-23-2002, 08:22 AM
Like my new avatar? What's wrong is no clients can connect unless it's from the client comp

Hammer
06-23-2002, 08:50 AM
Have you tried running a sniffer on the client and the server to see what's going on under the hood?

Also, have the client PC use the windows (I assume you're using windows) telnet client to connect to your server (just set the destination port accordingly on the connect dialog box). This will hopefully help you see if it's a client or server problem. Of course, if it is a router problem, it'll be harder to track.

Also, what port are you using? I assume you don't want to say, so just make sure it's >1024. Alternatively, use the default (21) to start with, until you get it working, then change to another port later on.

Driveway
06-23-2002, 08:53 AM
Yay, someone visited my page, I'm assmuming it's you. The client is using windows. My FTP software tells me when someone is trying to get in.

vasanth
06-24-2002, 05:09 AM
well all the admins here can easily get your IP.