PDA

View Full Version : Master Boot Record (MBR)



Troll_King
06-09-2002, 07:29 AM
How do you reset the MBR. I have a menu that is comming up for a duel boot but one of the OS's has been removed and I wanted to get rid of that menu, at least for the moment.

Is there a way to update changes to the MBR?

ygfperson
06-09-2002, 07:59 AM
if you have lilo, alter /etc/lilo.conf. erase or comment out everything on that os you want to remove. then run lilo without options. if it doesn't give you problems, you're ok.

taylorguitarman
06-09-2002, 09:19 AM
fdisk /mbr will rewrite the MBR for you.

a little dated but,
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q69013

GSLR
06-09-2002, 05:49 PM
I had the same prob once couldent get rid of it (Didnt really know how to but I was formatting again so that sorted it out )
this is quite leathel but it will work to remove anything off of a disk!!)

start pc with startup utility disk that has your system files and a copy of debug on it.

type debug to get the prog going then

TYPE THIS INTO THE DEBUG PROGRAM EXACTLY


A 100
INT 13
(ENTER)
RAX
0301
RBX
0200
F 200 L 200 0
RCX
0001
RDX
0080 OR 81,82,83
P
Q

That should do it

Just a side note this looses everything on the HD so format afterwards.

Cheers
Q

Betazep
06-09-2002, 06:47 PM
Is thew menu from bootmagic or system commander?

If so, you can disable it in the software.