PDA

View Full Version : Your rig



smokeybear
06-05-2002, 02:09 PM
So what computer rig does everyone have ?

--Dell Inspiron 8100 Laptop - recieved for xmas 2k1 and it's already screwed up :)

SilentStrike
06-05-2002, 03:03 PM
This is my system.

1400 mhz Athlon (266 mhz FSB)
256 MB DDR RAM
GeForce 3
Runs primarily KDE 2.2 on Mandrake 8.2, though I boot to windows 2000 every once in awhile to compile/test BomberLAN on it.

Right now I am typing from a family computer that I just fixed.

1000 mhz Athlon (200 mhz FSB)
128 MB PC133 RAM (soon to be 512 megs of DDR :) )
GeForce 2 GTS.
It's running KDE 3 on Red Hat 7.3 now, but will probably be predominantly running windows once I can find the CD and install it, as the family isn't really that keen on using Linux.

sean
06-05-2002, 04:51 PM
I was thinking this would be better as a poll, but then. there's a lot of variety. THAT IS ONE BIG POLL.

I'm ashamed to say I'm still using DOS 6, Windows 3, and I think it's somewhere close to the early x86 processors.

*hangs head in shame*

But hey - it gets the job done. It's all about who's behind the keyboard

SilentStrike
06-05-2002, 05:01 PM
Heh, wow. That stuff has got to be painfully slow though.

Fountain
06-05-2002, 05:45 PM
Latest specs.

1800XP AMD

geoforce 4

lots of 3d marks

384 MB ram

Lots of cooling to be safe (lmao, see other threads)

100gb HDD

AND MY FAVOURITE.....RUNNING XP HOME (its the best)

Nasty 56k modem (Damn that BT for no broadband/cable in my street)

Etc

tim545666
06-05-2002, 11:04 PM
800 mhz PIII, still fast enough for me
nVidia TNT2 32 megs
256 megs of PC133 sdram
8X burner
12X dvd, never used
19" NEC moniter
40 gig 7200 rpm hd
DSL - 1.5 megabits down, 128 kilobits up
Windows XP home, doesn't work that well with this comp
Optical mouse
Broken scanner
2nd optical mouse, broken

taylorguitarman
06-05-2002, 11:47 PM
1200-C Althon (266 FSB) on a MSI mainboard
640MB SDRAM
32MB nVidia TNT-2
HP 8x CD-Burner
30G WD - Running Win2K
20G WD - Running Redhat 7.3
17" KDS monitor

PIII 700
256MB SDRAM
32MB ATI
20G WD - Running Slackware 8.0 and FreeBSD
(this one is going to my brother soon)

I use a KVM switch to move between systems for now.
I'm going to rebuild an old P-166 just to play with when I give my brother the other one.

Betazep
06-06-2002, 01:53 AM
I use a stone, chisle, used chewing gum and a lot of twine. Oh... and duct tape.... can't forget about that.

smokeybear
06-06-2002, 07:46 AM
Originally posted by Betazep
I use a stone, chisle, used chewing gum and a lot of twine. Oh... and duct tape.... can't forget about that.

Nice one.... lol :)

DavidP
06-06-2002, 08:34 AM
300 Mhz AMD K3 3D-Now! processor
384 MB SDRAM
8 GB HD primary
40 GB HD secondary
GeForce 2
36x CDROM
12x4x24 HP CD-RW
17" Smile monitor
56k modem

ygfperson
06-06-2002, 01:50 PM
1 ghz amd athlon processor
128 mb ddr
dvd rom
4 write, 12 read cd writer
bt878 tv tuner (ie, generic)
3dfx voodoo3 3000 agp
a 2g hard drive for windows, a 3g hard drive for linux; and a 45g across a lan
generic ethernet card
15" generic monitor

Dual-Catfish
06-06-2002, 02:46 PM
AMD Duron 850MHZ
192MB Ram
16MB nVidia TNT
16*10*40 CD Burner
20GIG Running Win2K

AMD K6-2 500MHZ
64MB Ram
Old Video card
24 Speed CD-Rom
8GIG Running Mandrake Linux and Win2K

GSLR
06-06-2002, 03:36 PM
450 Mhz Celeron
288M Ram
16 M Voodoo 3 pci
44X CDrom
3.5 inch floppy drive
10G hard drive win 98 and 2000pro
10G hard drive win2000 server
Had red hat 6 but hd broke!!

P1 266Mhz
96 M Ram
56X cdrom
voodoo3 pci
3G hard drive
win 98

PII 350 Mhz
24X cdrom
sis video card
4G hard drive
win 98

Soon To get another Bright Shiney new one to add to my collection.

Q

Dalren
06-06-2002, 05:26 PM
My personel box
PIII 533mhz
128m Ram (soon to be 256 since ram is so dirt cheap)
GeForce2
DVD drive (cant remember speed)
8x8x32 CDRW
10gig HD (also needs to be increased)
running Win98 se2
with highly customized version of litestep running in place of windows shell

Family's box
PIV 1.8 ghz
512m Ram
TNT2 (is that pathetic or what, they still put these in new computers)
DVD burner
44x CDrom
80 gig HD
running WinXP home

Pendragon
06-06-2002, 06:54 PM
Well, my new machine follows as such:


80Gb HDD
1.5GHz AMD
256Mb SDRAM
24x12x40 CD-RW
Mat****a DVD-ROM
MIDI Card
Netgear Fast Ethernet Adaptor
Primax Colorado 1200psi Scanner (Currently not functioning due to driver problems grr....)
17" LCD Monitor
Microsoft Natural Keyboard Plus (Ergonomic)
Microsoft Optical Internet Mouse
Running Windows 2000 Professional

The other one... held together with glue and sellotape:

13Gb HDD
128Mb SDRAM
500Mhz Processor
DVD ROM
Ethernet Adaptor
24x12x40 CD-RW
17" LCD Monitor
Also Running Windows 2000 Pro.
Not a bad system but software is *seriously* buggered (Hence I haven't posted in nearly three months). I need some time when I'm not playing with my new toy to have a go at it.

xds4lx
06-08-2002, 11:08 PM
Athlon XP 1800
Epox 8kha+ mb
2x 512mb pc2100 DDR RAM
Geforce3 TI500
Sound Blaster Audigy
16x DVD
80gb 7200rpm hd

and a

450mhz celeron
128mb pc100 SDRAM
Geforce2mx
onboard audio
52x CD
8-6-40 CRDW
12GB hd

Vicious
06-08-2002, 11:17 PM
ill make it simple

1.4ghz
740 MB RAM
60 Gig HD
64mb vram on a geforce PCI card
Soundblaster (something)

face_master
06-08-2002, 11:53 PM
651Mhz Pentium 2
128Mb SDRAM
20Gb HD
17" monitor
Voodoo3
Xp Pro ;)
1 Burner
1 DVD drive
Motorola 'SURFboard' Cable Modem :D