PDA

View Full Version : Mandrake + Graphical Interface



MethodMan
06-02-2002, 01:07 PM
This is more of a linuz based question, rather than a linux programming question, but I hope someone can help. When I log onto linux, it doesnt go directly into the graphical interface. Is there any way to access it from the command line?

Thanks

SilentStrike
06-02-2002, 02:44 PM
Type startx.

If the GUI isn't working, it's likely something is messed up though, and startx is likely to fail :(.

Lynux-Penguin
06-02-2002, 04:37 PM
on redhat (not sure bout Mandrake)
it is in the inittab

/etc/inittab

it specifies how the system should boot up, now for mine i have it on
3 for Multiuser mode
but u want it on 5 to start X11 by default.

IF you want X11 to start up by default for Linux

stautze
06-03-2002, 01:42 AM
as root,

$./sbin/telinit 5

This will set the run level to 5 in /etc/inittab