PDA

View Full Version : dual monitors



hermit
05-30-2002, 09:32 AM
Anyone here uses dual monitors? if so , what is the purpose . .

Barjor
05-30-2002, 09:42 AM
I don't but my boss have a dual monitor setup..*pout* Well you get twice as much screen area and that can be good if you do graphical design and such. It toke him some time to get used to though,

Govtcheez
05-30-2002, 03:25 PM
I do, and so do most of the people I work with. Most of them do drafting, so it's necessary. For me, it's just nice to be able to have a IE window and a Minesweeper window open at the same time :D

MrWizard
05-30-2002, 04:04 PM
I also use dual monitors. I like to be able to debug full-screen DirectX applications with my second monitor. Also, I too like to play minesweeper on the second while doing things on the primary.

tyler
05-30-2002, 07:50 PM
I use to have dual monitor, but then my dad needed my second monitor.

I usually used it by downloading something on my secondary monitor, and doing the important stuff on the main monitor. It would make it easy to check the status of a download or something without having to press ALT+TAB or anything.

I wished I still had it.

golfinguy4
05-30-2002, 08:53 PM
One word comes to mind, Lucky Asses. OK, maybe 2. :D

MrWizard
05-30-2002, 09:38 PM
If you OS supports dual monitors it is very cheap right now to upgrade. Here is what I bought...remember i just use it for debugging and simple stuff so I don't care about the video card.

1) ATI Rage XL Pro (8mg) PCI - $30.00
2) Samtron 76V 17" Monitor - $86.00 + $30 shipping

So, as you can see it wasn't all that much money. Make sure to get a compatible video card with your OS and make sure it's PCI, assuming you have your AGP taken by the primary. I got all my stuff at www.pricewatch.com

taylorguitarman
05-30-2002, 10:40 PM
Or you could use a *NIX OS and use virtual desktops. Last summer I used to run eight, now I'm down to four. One for the console, web browser, development, and games. I'm surprised Windows hasn't implemented that yet (unless XP does?). It's a very nice feature.

awarden
06-01-2002, 03:20 PM
That virtual desktop is nice.
XP's got it now in with the powertoys.
You can get em here http://download.microsoft.com/download/whistler/Install/1.0/WXP/EN-US/PowerToySetup.exe

dayknight
06-01-2002, 06:04 PM
duel monitor is good for working
but for playing games a big monitor is better

:cool:

taylorguitarman
06-01-2002, 11:30 PM
I just installed VirtuaWin-
http://w1.457.telia.com/~u45706979/

Multiple desktops on Windows2K, life is getting better.