PDA

View Full Version : Computer Problem



ketchup57v
05-11-2002, 06:56 PM
I hope someone here can help me with my problem, or lead to to find help somewhere cause I've been trying to figure it out for a long time. I have a Compaq Presario 7850 with a Compaq FS740 monitor, and I have windows 98 just as info if anyone needs that to help with my problem. When I go to Start, Settings, Control Panel, Display, Settings there the color says 16 colors and I was curious how to be able to get more colors, cause not to many things work with only 16 colors. I tried clicking on it to get more options but the online options it gives me are 2 colors and 16 colors. Also while in the settings the screen area is also only at 640 by 480, and I was curious how to make that larger. I try moving it over but it wont let me. I hope someone knows how to make these with more options so I can properly function my computer. Please let me know if you can help me, cause it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!!!

Matt

Sorensen
05-11-2002, 07:04 PM
*Adopts computer troubleshooter tone*

It sounds like you have either a limited video card or a bad video card driver. You didn't mention your video card (or available video ram), but I suggest you obtain these details from the manufacturers website. This may lead you directly to your problem, or may give you clues that point you in the right direction. Your limited colours may well be a function of your setup.

ketchup57v
05-12-2002, 12:02 PM
That would work if I had the option to choose more then 16 colors, but i dont have any more options. How do I get more options?

salvelinus
05-12-2002, 02:15 PM
You need either a new video driver or a new video card (which would come with its own driver). The video card/driver you have now isn't capable of displaying more colors/resolution.
Drivers you can usually download free, a video card you'll have to buy. First step is to check Compaq's website, see if there are any drivers there.

Clyde
05-12-2002, 02:45 PM
You need to find out what graphics card you have. Once you have done that, find the driver CD that will have come with your compac.

Now go to control panel -> system -> device manager -> display adapters.

Under display adapters you will see something like "Standard display adapter" if it's something else then note down what it is (it will be the name of your graphics card). Now click on it and click on remove.

Restart your computer, when you boot up it will "detect new hardware", when it asks for drivers point it at the relevant section of your driver CD.

If you've lost the CD, or want a more up-to-date driver, do a google search for the name of your card + drivers, and download the latest driver. Then instead of pointing to the CD point to your downloaded drivers.

Bleh i suck at explaining stuff like this.

Will
05-12-2002, 09:22 PM
Are the words "Safe Mode" anywhere on your screen? :p

novacain
05-12-2002, 10:11 PM
Your whole problem stems from this

>>Compaq

The work of the devil.
Why oh, why do they not just use normal screws.


So if your graphics card IS stuffed/can't find right make model/correct driver you will all so need a Compaq screwdriver to remove it (or pay someone who has one).

Vicious
05-12-2002, 10:14 PM
I have a Compaq and a Phillips head removes all tha screws.

:confused:

jdinger
05-13-2002, 10:09 AM
Originally posted by dayknight
LOL JDINGER, U CAN SAY THAT AGAIN
DO U LIKE MY CAPS ( LOL );
ANYWAY
i had said b4 no more CAPS and code will be used from now on.


lol. Just ribbing you, dk! :D

dbaryl
05-13-2002, 12:56 PM
Originally posted by Will
Are the words "Safe Mode" anywhere on your screen? :p

Hey, that COULD be the cause of all your problems. If that is the case, the disktop will have th words "Safe Mode" in all 4 corners of the screen. This is the diagnostic mode Windows boots to if not properly shut down the previous time.

To get back to normal settings: When you start up the computer, hold down the CTRL key [for Win 98]... from teh menu that will show up on the screen choose 'Normal'...

Don't I wish it was that simple, instead of a faulty video card :)

Vicious
05-13-2002, 04:06 PM
If you have recently installed a new graphics card, see if DirectX is on the driver disk. Maybe it didnt install right

Dual-Catfish
05-13-2002, 04:11 PM
Click on dropdown menu n choose 16 bit ( dont use higher if u sit in front of ur computer for more than 2 hrs)

I'm sorry, I have to know... why is this? I was under the impression that the human eye couldn't distinguish between that many colors anyway.