PDA

View Full Version : just a quick "hello world!" before I start asking questions.

PaulS
09-22-2014, 12:17 AM
I used to write some C code back in the 1980s but I haven't done much of anything with C since windoze took over my computers.

I am fairly new to Linux (Ubuntu) and have the bug to start programming in ANSI C. It is a new challenge but I like it. I am set up with the header files and I got a new list of the keywords and am beginning my second career by recoding an old program that I wrote using Turbo C from Borland. I am using the Geany IDEand am faily comfortable with it but it seems I have forgotton just about everything I thought I knew.

I used to use Getch() to get keystroke input but I guess it is gone from the "new" ANSI C. Is their an easy way around it without going beyond the ANSI coding?

If not I will deal with the extra <enter> keystroke.

I am having fun with it at 64 years old but it is going to be a rough learning curve.

So, hello world, and I'll be back.

Paul

Salem
09-22-2014, 01:41 AM
Welcome to the forum!.

All input in ANSI C is line buffered by default, so it's hard to get away from the need to press enter.

FAQ - Cprogramming.com (http://faq.cprogramming.com/cgi-bin/smartfaq.cgi) has some methods for simulating getch() in a Linux environment, which would allow your program to be 'mostly' ANSI-C rather than 'purely' ANSI-C.

grumpy
09-22-2014, 03:10 AM
I used to use Getch() to get keystroke input but I guess it is gone from the "new" ANSI C. Is their an easy way around it without going beyond the ANSI coding?

getch() was never part of the "old" (as in pre-ANSI) C either. It was supported by some vendors as an extension, either in the library supplied by compiler vendors or as a third-party library function.

If you were writing programs that relied on directly receiving keyboard input, you were already going beyond ANSI coding. That has not changed.