PDA

View Full Version : KaZaA



novacain
04-04-2002, 11:36 PM
How do feel about programs that do this?

"MILLIONS of internet users who have downloaded the popular Napster-style network KaZaA for swapping music and movies are about to find themselves part of a worldwide system that uses their computers to work for big business.
KaZaA's file-sharing technology has been secretly packaged with a software component - presently dormant - that can plug member PCs into another network, Altnet.

And Altnet will offer that network to companies as computing power and storage space, potentially using millions of PCs worldwide.
........
Altnet will be activated in four to six weeks, linking member computers and using their hard drives to store files and their unused computing power for commercial supercomputing."

From

http://news.com.au/common/story_page/0,4057,4076974%255E15306,00.html
(but the link will only be valid for a few days from 5 April 2002)

When did we stop owning our computers?
Whats next?
Could they get my car to go out and become a part-time taxi?
These type of things should be OPT_IN not OPT_OUT.

doubleanti
04-05-2002, 12:25 AM
hm funny... as programmers we constantly struggle for time and space... and when someone decides to use it wisely, we offer a privacy issue... which we fundamentally understand is arbitary as much as the states of our harddrives are over time. we don't say 'oh i sure miss my first install of XP...' with emotion after our 15th reformat...

novacain
04-05-2002, 01:33 AM
People who use my programs know they are using one.

My objection is that it is hidden from you and comercial. I have no objection to distributed computing, I am part of the SETI distributed computing network.

In fact I don't use KaZaA. I do however feel it is wrong for a comercial application to try and use my PC without permission.

So you have no problem with me wanting to make money with your PC, using your internet bandwidth without telling you?

doubleanti
04-05-2002, 01:41 AM
well of course i have a problem with it... but if i agreed with the cause [and knew about it, of course] then i'd go for it... just think of the possibilities! i was moreso pointing out how interesting it was [as would be the nature of many of my posts and commentation] thank you.

nvoigt
04-05-2002, 02:53 AM
I use Kazaa. Only for legal stuff of course ! :D

>When did we stop owning our computers?

When we signed their Terms of Service saying in the last quarter that in your idle time your bandwidth will be used. Not read it ? Me neither. But is was there. You can disable it in the options I believe.

Unregistered
04-05-2002, 03:22 AM
Ahh, its the devil in the fine print.

Like a most software waranties.
"You are fully covered as long as nothing goes wrong and you don't install on a computer."

What happens if you delete the files they have stored on your PC?

Magos
04-05-2002, 10:05 AM
Originally posted by nvoigt
You can disable it in the options I believe.
Is it the "Supernode" option?

Aran
04-05-2002, 10:55 AM
>What happens if you delete the files they have stored on your PC?

Kazaa can no longer be used if you uninstal it's spyware components.... i uninstalled the spyware part of it and it gave me a message saying that part of Kazaa was uninstalled and i have to reinstall it in order to use Kazaa.

nvoigt
04-05-2002, 12:52 PM
>Is it the "Supernode" option?

Nope, the checkbox below, something about using bandwidth when idle. Maybe only in version 1.6+

>it's spyware components

Well, I wouldn't call this spyware. It's not spying.

Aran
04-05-2002, 02:02 PM
the spyware and the ad components are tied together within the program.. to delete one is to delete them both.

qwertiop
04-05-2002, 02:27 PM
so what is the supernode option? and if I don't update to ver. 1.6, will I still be able to access the network?

nvoigt
04-05-2002, 02:50 PM
>so what is the supernode option?

If you need a full definition, look it up in the manual. It's about who keeps file indexes and stuff.

>the spyware

Could you be somewhat more explicit ? Noone mentioned spyware here, so what are you talking about ?

>and the ad components

I didn't install all the junk that came with it. I believe the ads in the lower left can be removed using ad-aware or some other tool, but who cares ? It's the net, who gives **** about ads ?
See, ignore, be happy.

Aran
04-05-2002, 03:17 PM
um... spyware is directly related to the ads and such, and add-aware makes the program NOT run if you uninstal the spyware/montoring software/what we are talking about in this thread from it.

Kazaa monitors what you download, eats up RAM and such with it's "extra accesorries" (what we are talking of in this thread), and eats up bandwidth.

just get Morpheus and be happy.

dirkduck
04-05-2002, 08:19 PM
I prefer WinMX to all both Kazaa and Morpheus

mill1000
04-05-2002, 10:14 PM
in my opionion KazaA suck cuz it has errors i like Morpheus untill they made the preview verson which sucks i currently have Limewire but the only problem is it realy bad at playing song when ur doing some thing else:D

face_master
04-06-2002, 02:07 AM
I used to use Kazaa, iMesh and WinMX but there's way too many viruses on there at the moment. I've stopped downloading illegal stuff all together, i've promoted myself to buying CD's and burning other peoples stuff :). Oh and as for LimeWire, that has got to me the worst file sharing program ever made. It puts Java to shame...

nvoigt
04-06-2002, 05:06 AM
>the spyware/montoring software/what we are talking about in this thread

If you read the top of the thread, you might see that this is about the AltNet Business concept that was introduced. I don't like it. I would have liked it as OptIn instead of OptOut and I would have liked it to be a flashing-yellow-blink-in-your-face Introduction instead of sneaking it in. But if you don't have more information than posted here, I don't see any reference to spyware.

>Kazaa monitors what you download

I would hope so. I would throw it off my HD the day I get in in the morning and KaZaa pops up a window saying "You downloaded ? Oh. Uhm. Well. Sorry, I misplaced it, care to download again ?" :p

>eats up RAM

I have Kazaa running right as I write this. It eats half a meg more than my browser. I think I can live with that. If you can't, better don't get any windows programs :p

>and eats up bandwidth

I hope it uses all it can get, I want my stuff fast. You can limit it in the options if you like. And if you dislike the AltNet variant, turn it off. I did.