PDA

View Full Version : How long do I have to.............

RobR
03-19-2002, 01:16 PM
Just out of interest (and partly to encourage / discourage me) how long does it take before C syntax becomes second nature. What I mean by this is that I have problems getting my ideas into a program 'cos the syntax gets in the way. It's difficult to get things to flow when you have to keep looking back at old source to remember where you put the #defines or {}'s or ;'s last time!

I've been programming in C for 20 years and it's still a problem (only kidding, it's been around 6 months, but not solidly).

nvoigt
03-19-2002, 01:27 PM
Depends on you, but for me it took 2 to 3 years for it not to matter anymore. It just flows now...

RobR
03-19-2002, 01:52 PM
Hmmmmm...... 2 1/2 years to go then!:D

Did you find it equally frustrating? If I had any hair, I'd tear it out.

(BTW, Thx for the reply)

Brian
03-19-2002, 02:00 PM
I've been programming C on and off for about 5 years. That is, I started 5 years ago, but probably one or two of those years I skipped programming altogether. I still have trouble.

Here are some common mistakes I make:

/* incorrect */
if(a = 1)
/* correct */
if(a == 1)

/* incorrect */
int main(void);
{
}
/* correct */
int main(void)
{
}

/* incorrect */
int a == 1;
/* correct */
int a = 1;

/* incorrect */
if(a == 1);
/* correct */
if(a == 1)

/* incorrect */
printf("hey")
/* correct */
printf("hey");

Semicolons are evil.

RobR
03-19-2002, 02:05 PM
Semicolons are evil.

LOL - I've lost count of the number of times I've "thrown a few extra ones in" and let the compiler find them!

VirtualAce
03-19-2002, 02:43 PM
It took me about 2 years. There are still some C++ syntax issues that get confusing for me every now and then, but not often.

-KEN-
03-19-2002, 02:48 PM
With C it took me less than a year, but even now every once in a while I get syntax errors (barely ever) but even the most experienced coders can't avoid them.

nvoigt
03-19-2002, 03:13 PM