PDA

View Full Version : Applied philosophy refresher

VirtualAce
04-25-2009, 02:33 PM
Since it has been almost 10 or more years since I've been in a philosophy class I thought I would refresh myself on some of the fallacies I studied.

Logical Fallacies (http://www.philosophicalsociety.com/Logical%20Fallacies.htm#affirm-consequent)

Interestingly enough reading these it is clear to see that the U.S. mass media, be it left, right, or whatever as well as it's politicians are knee-deep in nearly every one of these fallacies.
Do you guys rememeber anything else noteworthy from your college philosophy classes - other than the fact you might have slept through and/or missed half the lectures? :D

CornedBee
04-25-2009, 04:14 PM
You had philosophy in college? My last philosophy classes (actually, one class) was in high school. I remember absolutely nothing. But then, the teacher was ... weird. Not in a good way.

SlyMaelstrom
04-25-2009, 07:05 PM
All of these fallacies came up big time in the Civil and Criminal Justice courses I had taken. Specifically, we were taught how to use them effectively to win over a jury. :D

If you can't build a good case you have to appeal to the natures of man.

robwhit
04-25-2009, 07:34 PM
philosophy isn't perfect either

ಠ_ಠ
04-25-2009, 07:40 PM
philosophy isn't perfect either

Thinking of running for office?

robwhit
04-25-2009, 09:17 PM
argumentum ad hominem?

ಠ_ಠ
04-25-2009, 10:33 PM
argumentum ad hominem?

Isn't it awesome?

I would say that nothing is perfect, but if you did nothing all day it would be hard to make an argument that it was a perfect day

robwhit
04-26-2009, 07:17 AM
Of course, I didn't mean to imply that you shouldn't do something just because it wasn't perfect.

stevesmithx
04-26-2009, 09:55 AM
~HE ͡҉ ҉̔̕WHO͡҉ ҉̔̕̚̕̚҉ ~ ҉̵̞̟ WA͡҉ ҉̔̕̚~ ҉̵̞̟̠̖̗̘̙̜̝̞̟̠͇ITS BEHIND ͡҉ ҉̔̕̚̕̚҉ ~ ҉
͡҉ ҉̔̕̚̕̚҉ ~ ҉̵̞̟̠̖̗̘̙̜̝̞̟̠͇THE ͡҉ ҉̔̕̚̕̚҉WALL ҉̵̞̟̠̖̗̘̙̜̝̞̟̠͇͡҉

Yuck! What the heck did you do to your sig?