PDA

View Full Version : XP and open ports...



Korn1699
02-21-2002, 08:01 PM
Well here is my problem...

...I still have dialup (no, that isn't the problem I am talking about), but sometimes when I try to go online and already have, it says that port is open. Is there a way to see what ports are open and close the ones I want to, so I don't have to reboot? I am also running XP pro if that helps any

Ken Fitlike
02-21-2002, 08:23 PM
Go here for online tests and lots of useful info:

http://grc.com/default.htm

Korn1699
02-21-2002, 11:21 PM
That won't really help me cause I have trouble going online sometimes, and that is the problem to begin with...

Korn1699
02-22-2002, 01:03 PM
Does anyone know?

Barjor
02-22-2002, 01:22 PM
I had the same problem on my old NT 4 server. What I did was to replace the modem to a non winmodem (Not sure what you have) I never figured out a workaround other then reboot. I would guess that what happens is that the modem don't release the port it grabed and when you try to re initialize the modem it thinks the ports is already taken.

Unregistered
02-22-2002, 07:02 PM
type this in DOS

netstat -a