PDA

View Full Version : What Language are you writing in?

C-Compiler
12-23-2008, 11:16 AM
I program in C++ and I have a pretty good idea of what im doing but Im not an expert. Ive been self tought for about 9 months now, the first 6 in basic C. So I was wondering my copy of Visual Studio allows me to program in C# and Visual Basic, so I was curious if they are worth learning Visual Basic I looked at but didnt like and I have no idea about C#.

Sebastiani
12-23-2008, 11:27 AM
I program in just about any language that the job demands, but in general, I prefer using C++. As far as C# and VB, they're pretty useful for platform-specific stuff, but suffer from (rather irritating and non-intuitive) language defects.

Yarin
12-23-2008, 11:30 AM
I would become yet more familiar with C/C++ before moving on to another language.
You may feel comfortable with C++ now, but after 9 months, there's still a bit more about the language to learn, mainly how to efficiently use it.
Let me put it this way, it's much better to know only a few languages really well than to know a bunch of languages only enough to get by.
I'd wait.

Thantos
12-23-2008, 11:34 AM
It depends on what I'm writing. Right now I probably spend most of my time in PHP as I'm doing web applications. For desktop I'm spending more time in Java as I'm doing GUI programs. For CPU bound applications I tend to use C or C++. And for embedded programs I use C.

I haven't used C# and have only limited experience with VB. VB annoys me, a lot, so I tend to say away from it.

Thantos
12-23-2008, 11:36 AM
I actually completely disagree with Yarin. IMO it is better to broaden your horizons early before you get set into thinking in one mode of thinking. I think people would be better off if they were exposed to a bunch of different languages, especially if they use different paradigms, early on so that they can learn when to switch to another language for a particular task.

jwenting
12-23-2008, 11:44 AM