PDA

View Full Version : Anyone purely self-taught?

Pages : [1] 2 3

guitarscn
03-11-2008, 10:55 PM
Has anyone here taught themselves a programming language or multiple programming languages, all by themselves? Meaning no prior education on the topic, no school/classes in the field...just reading books and using whatever sources you can get from home? Do you think this is a better path or does it take longer to master the language in this way rather than going to school and learning? Especially since school isn't for everyone and sometimes learning at your own pace is good, but the fastest way to become an expert in a certain programming language? What is your idea of the "best" strategy to learn a language or multiple languages?

dra
03-11-2008, 11:35 PM
I've been learning on my own for a while, and I think it's completely possible to teach yourself programming without any formal classes or instruction. That said, I can think of more than a few times where I wished I had a mentor (and I still do) to help me understand the more difficult parts of learning something like C++.

brewbuck
03-12-2008, 12:03 AM
Has anyone here taught themselves a programming language or multiple programming languages, all by themselves? Meaning no prior education on the topic, no school/classes in the field...just reading books and using whatever sources you can get from home? Do you think this is a better path or does it take longer to master the language in this way rather than going to school and learning? Especially since school isn't for everyone and sometimes learning at your own pace is good, but the fastest way to become an expert in a certain programming language? What is your idea of the "best" strategy to learn a language or multiple languages?