Getting a new PSU... need opinions

This is a discussion on Getting a new PSU... need opinions within the Tech Board forums, part of the Community Boards category; Hio, my current PSU (360W no-name) is starting to die on me, and it's just not powerful enough for all ...

  1. #1
    C++ Developer XSquared's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,718

    Getting a new PSU... need opinions

    Hio, my current PSU (360W no-name) is starting to die on me, and it's just not powerful enough for all the random crap plugged into my PC. I'm looking at getting a new one thats >450W, and the main one that I was looking at is this Thermaltake 480W PSU. It seems to be a decent price, which is my main concern. Any opinions on this one, or recommendations as to other ones?
    Naturally I didn't feel inspired enough to read all the links for you, since I already slaved away for long hours under a blistering sun pressing the search button after typing four whole words! - Quzah

    You. Fetch me my copy of the Wall Street Journal. You two, fight to the death - Stewie

  2. #2
    Registered User Boomba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    89
    I dont know much about PSU's in terms of specific brands. but I do know you should never cheap out on one cus they caa casue seriouse damage if you dont get a good one. so in this case i suggest an Enermax best PSU. I have a 460w enermax and it runs very silently with two fans and its from a quality brand. i think that if you're willing to pay 89 bucks canadian for the one you mentioned above you can surely afford an enermax.

    good luck,
    Boomba

  3. #3
    5|-|1+|-|34|) ober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    4,429
    NO NO NO NO NO NO NO!!!!!!! DO NOT, I repeat NOT purchase that PSU. I really hope you haven't bought it already.

    I owned that one for about 4 months before it completely died on me. Enermax is ok, but you should really get a PSU that provides clean, pure power to all your components.

    http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...hp?show=S47ATX

    Buy it, love it, never look back. These guys make some of the best PSUs on the market. That is the one I'm running and it has been fantastic.
    EntropySink. You know you have to click it.

  4. #4
    C++ Developer XSquared's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,718
    >>NO NO NO NO NO NO NO!!!!!!! DO NOT, I repeat NOT purchase that PSU. I really hope you haven't bought it already.
    I'm getting the impression you don't like that PSU...

    I actually ended up getting the 480W PSU that I linked to above. One of my housemates has the exact same model and hasn't had any problems with it so far, so I figured I'd give it a try.
    Naturally I didn't feel inspired enough to read all the links for you, since I already slaved away for long hours under a blistering sun pressing the search button after typing four whole words! - Quzah

    You. Fetch me my copy of the Wall Street Journal. You two, fight to the death - Stewie

  5. #5
    5|-|1+|-|34|) ober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    4,429
    I hope you have better luck than I did.
    EntropySink. You know you have to click it.

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions on custom system build
    By lightatdawn in forum Tech Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 05:15 AM
  2. PSU Suggestions?
    By ober in forum Tech Board
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-02-2005, 04:20 PM
  3. Bad PSU?
    By B0bDole in forum Tech Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-24-2004, 10:48 AM
  4. Favors and Opinions
    By sean in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-01-2003, 11:04 PM
  5. Case mods for fans?
    By Shadow in forum Tech Board
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-04-2003, 02:03 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21