Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Barney McGrew

What is your opinion?

This is a discussion on What is your opinion? within the Tech Board forums, part of the Community Boards category; What does coding add to modern games that prefabs do not? How does code express what we desire to place ...

  1. #1
    Registered User Inkinsarto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    34

    What is your opinion?

    What does coding add to modern games that prefabs do not? How does code express what we desire to place inside a video game? (This is a main question I need to answer for a paper) What is the importance of code?

  2. #2
    Registered User rogster001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Liverpool UK
    Posts
    1,422
    Well what is your own opinion on the matter? How have you thought to answer the question so far
    Thought for the day:
    "Are you sure your sanity chip is fully screwed in sir?" (Kryten)
    FLTK: "The most fun you can have with your clothes on."

    Stroustrup:
    "If I had thought of it and had some marketing sense every computer and just about any gadget would have had a little 'C++ Inside' sticker on it'"

  3. #3
    Registered User Inkinsarto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    34
    Without code, all video games would act the same way. They would all be played and controlled the same way. Compare the two programs below for example: (they are only small programs modified to allow understanding in reading the code.)
    Program 1 Program 2
    switch button; D-pad movement
    case up:
    move character up;
    case down:
    move character down;
    case left:
    move character left;
    case right:
    move character right;

    When comparing the two programs, the left is obviously longer. The first uses code and the second is simply a button to press that instantly inputs the same code. The both output the same command, but Program 1 contains something highly important to game development, modification. If someone wishes to create a simple process that mixes up the movements of a sprite, they could easily change Program 1 to do so. On the other hand, without code, Program 2 would be the only possible choice. Then the program couldn’t be modified. All characters in all games would move the same way. This is obvious when watching current games today. If modern programs were to be replaced by features that only allow you to click and drag commands.

  4. #4
    Registered User Inkinsarto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by [U
    Program 1[/U] Program 2
    switch button; D-pad movement
    case up:
    move character up;
    case down:
    move character down;
    case left:
    move character left;
    case right:
    move character right;
    Sorry, that should look like this:
    Program ---------------------------------------------------------------------------1Program 2
    switch button;--------------------------------------------------------D-pad movement
    case up:
    move character up;
    case down:
    move character down;
    case left:
    move character left;
    case right:
    move character right;

  5. #5
    Stoned Witch Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    astaylea
    Posts
    420
    What does writing recipes add to modern cooking that recipes do not?
    dennis.cpp likes this.

  6. #6
    Registered User Inkinsarto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    34
    It creates new food, new ideas. But you use the ingredients that you have. This is what I interpret from that. Can you go deeper into the subject?

  7. #7
    Stoned Witch Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    astaylea
    Posts
    420
    Well, to me it doesn't seem like a meaningful question. You need to write recipes in order to have recipes; a benefit of writing recipes is having recipes.

    I think the intended meaning could be conveyed a little better by tweaking the question like so: "What are some general benefits of writing a recipe from scratch as opposed to taking a ready-made recipe and modifying it without <list the applicable limitations here>?" That way you're not comparing the process of writing recipes with a recipe, you're comparing two different processes for making recipes. For your purposes, this translates to something like "What are the general benefits of writing a game from scratch as opposed to taking a ready-made game and modifying only the data files?" Of course, I'm just assuming this is the meaning that the questioner intended.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator VirtualAce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    9,596
    How does using a forum for your paper stand as credible research? Since this has no specific game programming question I'm moving it to the tech board.

  9. #9
    Registered User Inkinsarto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    "What are the general benefits of writing a game from scratch as opposed to taking a ready-made game and modifying only the data files?"
    I can use "interviews" in my paper. Is it okay if I use this?

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Your opinion
    By Jaguar in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-08-2003, 02:23 AM
  2. Opinion please.
    By Carp in forum Tech Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-18-2003, 05:48 PM
  3. Your opinion on this...?
    By biosninja in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-15-2003, 09:33 AM
  4. your opinion please
    By iain in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-10-2001, 05:36 AM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21