Deleting Adobe reader
I've uninstalled the Adobe reader from my computer,
and it left two entries in my start -> programs menu.
When I right click to delete them, I get the following
Message, Warning:"Modifying this folder will affect
all users who log on to this computer. Do you want to
continue? Yes, No."
Will it be a problem deleting these two entries?
It means that when you delete the shortcut it will delete it for all users that use the computer. If you are the only one that makes use of it I doubt that it would lead to any problems. However if you manage a network all users would be affected by deleting it.
If you have uninstalled the application then you can safely say yes and not need to worry about any ill effects. Leaving the shortcut for other users is useless.
I'm not familiar with Vista or 7 in this regard, but in WinXP there are 2 folders that Windows builds the start menu from. One is C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu and the other is C:\Documents and Settings\<your user name>\Start Menu. Windows basically merges the two together when it pops up your Start Menu so you can't tell which Start Menu folder any given item is from at a glance. This allows an application to install a single shortcut that All Users can access vs. having to install a shortcut in every user's Start Menu folder. (You might notice the question an installer asks you, "Do you want to install this application for all users or just <your user name>?") It also allows each user to further customize their own start menu without affecting other users' start menus.
If you delete an item that is stored in the Start Menu folder under <your user name> you won't get that message because that shortcut is specific to your login. If you delete an item that is stored in the Start Menu folder under All Users, windows is warning you that any other user will lose that short cut from their Start Menu if you actually delete it. If you don't specifically log in when you boot your computer, or if yours is the only user account, then you don't need to worry about this at all (you can always say Yes to this question).
It's the same in 7, aside from that the shortcuts are stored in
%appdata%\Microsoft\Windows\Start menu and %programdata%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu. In Vista, they're even stored in a different place, I believe (not 100% sure).
You should report this as a bug in the uninstaller. If you click on either of those shortcuts, what happens?