opinions on laptop purchase

This is a discussion on opinions on laptop purchase within the Tech Board forums, part of the Community Boards category; Hi, I'm an ECE student and I'm looking at a Lenovo s10 and I want to be able to code ...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    9

    opinions on laptop purchase

    Hi, I'm an ECE student and I'm looking at a Lenovo s10 and I want to be able to code C, C++, C#, Java while I'm at school. I'll probably do most of my work on a desktop so I wont be restricted to the laptop, but I do want to be able to compile and test code on this machine. Also I'll upgrade it to 2GB of ram. Let me know what you think.

  2. #2
    Devil's Advocate SlyMaelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Out of scope
    Posts
    4,068
    The Atom processors are supposed to be pretty weak, but it should have no problem compiling code as long as you give it about 60% more time than you'd expect. For the price, it's pretty good. You can't really expect much more for $350.
    Sent from my iPadŽ

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    9
    At my school they use .net 2003 at home I have Visual studio 2008. Do you think I'll be able to use 2008 on the s10? I think this might be rather ridiculus since its such a resource hog. I still need to find a sustitute for visual studio. Its what I started learning on. any suggestions regarding this.

  4. #4
    Kernel hacker
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Farncombe, Surrey, England
    Posts
    15,677
    It is probably more a question of enough memory than processor power - particularly on a laptop, as the hard-disk is slower on laptops.

    --
    Mats
    Compilers can produce warnings - make the compiler programmers happy: Use them!
    Please don't PM me for help - and no, I don't do help over instant messengers.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    9
    The s10 maxes out at 2GB. If I get it I'll upgrade it to that the day it arrives.

    EDIT: Ok I talked to my prof and he said I'll be using Eclipse and Java 5 next semester. Are either of these very resource intensive?
    Last edited by xtrmi; 12-09-2008 at 12:53 PM.

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Question about Laptop connecting to a Desktop
    By Junior89 in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 57
    Last Post: 03-28-2008, 07:46 AM
  2. Is my laptop wireless G or N..??
    By The Brain in forum Tech Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-26-2007, 04:12 AM
  3. If you're getting a laptop, don't get a gateway
    By jverkoey in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-09-2004, 09:28 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21