Thread: VS .NET 2003 Is Bloat!

VS .NET 2003 Is Bloat!

I've had a copy of Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0, Standard Edition, for about five years now; and I've finally decided to give Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003, Professional Edition, a try because I can get it for free from my university anyway.

That thing is two CDs, a prerequisites CD, and seven MSDN Library CDs I haven't even bothered with yet. The installation took an hour and a half.

Anyway, it seems like Microsoft has made big changes since Visual Studio 6.0. They've integrated all the Visual tools in a snazzed-up version of the Microsoft Development Environment IDE from Visual J++ and Visual InterDev 6.0 and made the whole thing much more Web centric.

Maybe I'll fool with it more later, but my impression is that it is a 500-pound monster compared to the 200-pound monster that is Visual C++ 6.0. I'm glad I've still got Visual C++ 6.0 installed.
    I am a programmer. My first duty is to God, then to nation, then to employer, then to family, then to friends, then to computer, and finally to myself. I code with dignity, honor, and integrity.

yeah my university offers it for free to all Comp Sci students (through the MSDNAA), so I downloaded it.

The compressed installation file was 3.25 GB large.

I only installed the C# compiler and libraries because I already had Visual C++ 6.0 and it works great for me. I havent seen any need to upgrade to VC++ .NET yet.

(People always say the C# compiler comes free with the .NET Framework, but I have yet to find it...I installed the .NET Framework on my computer a long time ago and couldnt find the C# compiler anywhere...i kept looking for "csc.exe" because i know that is what it is called but didnt see it anywhere).
    My Website

"Circular logic is good because it is."

& the hat of GPL slaying Thantos's Avatar
    Don't you know its free if you can guess the correct 256 digit combo?