opinions on runnable.com

This is a discussion on opinions on runnable.com within the General Discussions forums, part of the Community Boards category; I just discovered runnable.com . I've noticed that a lot of the examples that I've looked at are poor quality ...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,590

    opinions on runnable.com

    I just discovered runnable.com. I've noticed that a lot of the examples that I've looked at are poor quality code, and don't necessarily do exactly what they claim to do, or have variables or functions named in such a way that it makes things less obvious and more unclear. has any member of this forum contributed code or offered constructive advice to users who have posted bad examples? do you think it's worthwhile to contribute to such a thing, given that the majority of examples are likely to be submitted by people who are themselves just learning?
    Code:
    namespace life
    {
        const bool change = true;
    }

  2. #2
    Master Apprentice phantomotap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,415
    has any member of this forum contributed code or offered constructive advice to users who have posted bad examples?
    O_o

    I don't recall ever having heard of this particular site, but I did just take a look.

    Out of fifteen examples, three examples for five languages, all fifteen had numerous problems such as: completely obvious mechanic, misspelling, "does not do what it says on the label", copy-pasta corruption, unstated requirements (libraries), and truly awful (as in dangerous) code.

    Simply put, the inexperienced vastly outnumber the experienced; with no clear form/function to "vote into oblivion"/moderate bad posts the site is doomed to poor examples.

    I don't know of any offhand, and I probably would not use a third-party site anyway because I'm trying to rebuild my own site, but I'd strongly advise finding a different outlet for this sort of thing.

    Spending a similar time for a few different sites from a simple search I found two sites with similar motivations providing superior examples still offering a more refined mechanism for guidance.

    do you think it's worthwhile to contribute to such a thing, given that the majority of examples are likely to be submitted by people who are themselves just learning?
    I've answered this question so let me spin it: do you think it is worthwhile to contribute to a similar thing given a more robust mechanism for ensuring quality examples?

    Absolutely. Of course, I am biased for until it was attacked, my site offered exactly that.

    Soma
    “Often out of periods of losing come the greatest strivings toward a new winning streak.” -- Fred Rogers
    “Salem Was Wrong!” -- Pedant Necromancer

  3. #3
    Registered User whiteflags's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    7,762
    That search bar has royally ........ed me off.

  4. #4
    Master Apprentice phantomotap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,415
    That search bar has royally ........ed me off.
    O_o

    ALL active billboards (the search thing) really bother me.

    Soma
    “Often out of periods of losing come the greatest strivings toward a new winning streak.” -- Fred Rogers
    “Salem Was Wrong!” -- Pedant Necromancer

  5. #5
    Registered User whiteflags's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    7,762
    The real dumb thing is that the billboard doesn't turn off when the search box is in focus, so I can't use it. It could be me, but I don't think it is.

  6. #6
    Unregistered User Yarin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,691
    Quote Originally Posted by whiteflags View Post
    The real dumb thing is that the billboard doesn't turn off when the search box is in focus, so I can't use it. It could be me, but I don't think it is.
    I had the same problem.
    A class that doesn't overload all operators just isn't finished yet. -- SmugCeePlusPlusWeenie
    A year spent in artificial intelligence is enough to make one believe in God. -- Alan J. Perlis

  7. #7
    and the hat of copycat stevesmithx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    507
    I didn't go through the site much but I think the terminal client embedded in the page is pretty cool. Anybody knows how this is done? They have given the root access, so I am assuming it runs in some sort of virtual environment?

  8. #8
    Master Apprentice phantomotap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,415
    I didn't go through the site much but I think the terminal client embedded in the page is pretty cool. Anybody knows how this is done? They have given the root access, so I am assuming it runs in some sort of virtual environment?
    O_o

    I don't know about this particular site, but generally the "backend" it is done the same way you'd do any remote terminal ("ssh") using traditional security ("kerberos") and traditional communication strategy ("sockets").

    The only "magic" is the flavor of "socket", the terminal emulator, and the server requirements.

    In other words, these things use "web technologies" like "AJAX" to communicate with a server speaking the same technology witch itself behaves as a proxy and "HTML/CSS/JavaScript" to build the interface on the client side.

    Ultimately, instead of installing client software on the client machine, client software is installed on a server and the user communicates to the client software using the same basic tools you'd use to code any other interactive form living in a browser.

    Basically, this is no different than any other remote proxy technology; it only lives in a different setting than you might have expected.

    You'll find many implementations online that do basically everything for you. I don't wish to make any specific recommendations really, but I have to say that I've had a lot of fun with "GateOne".

    Soma
    “Often out of periods of losing come the greatest strivings toward a new winning streak.” -- Fred Rogers
    “Salem Was Wrong!” -- Pedant Necromancer

  9. #9
    Registered User Hodor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    650
    Quote Originally Posted by stevesmithx View Post
    I didn't go through the site much but I think the terminal client embedded in the page is pretty cool. Anybody knows how this is done? They have given the root access, so I am assuming it runs in some sort of virtual environment?
    Well, I don't think this is what they're using but there is this: shellinabox - Web based AJAX terminal emulator - Google Project Hosting

    But I don't think that's what they're using (the JS seems to be different)

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions please!
    By Queatrix in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-23-2005, 08:04 AM
  2. Getting a new PSU... need opinions
    By XSquared in forum Tech Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-29-2005, 11:03 AM
  3. Opinions?
    By Decrypt in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2005, 06:29 PM
  4. C++ Opinions
    By Cgawd in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-28-2002, 06:01 PM
  5. More Opinions!
    By Govtcheez in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-01-2001, 07:37 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21