terrain fly thru preview

This is a discussion on terrain fly thru preview within the Game Programming forums, part of the General Programming Boards category; well, if i waited untill i finished projects before posting them i would probably never post anything. I also want ...

  1. #1
    Crazy Fool Perspective's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,640

    terrain fly thru preview

    well, if i waited untill i finished projects before posting them i would probably never post anything. I also want some opinions before i continue with this project so here it is...

    this is the early stages of a terrain engine to be used with a game (demo) im making. its not all that exciting yet. the whole thing is textured in the same green texture but i will add more detail and different textures to different areas later.

    controlls:
    forward/back and turn with arrow keys
    'W' moves up
    'S' moves down
    'A' and 'D' strafe


    i would really like to hear some feedback. there is some ugly alliasing where textures meet (water and land) and where the terrain ends (against the black background). suggestions appreciated.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    'AlHamdulillah
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    790
    havent looked at it yet, but the control scheme seems wrong, make the forward,back, and turn like in FPSs, AWSD. then, have the mousewheel make the camera move up and down.

  3. #3
    Crazy Fool Perspective's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,640
    Originally posted by EvBladeRunnervE
    havent looked at it yet, but the control scheme seems wrong, make the forward,back, and turn like in FPSs, AWSD. then, have the mousewheel make the camera move up and down.
    the movement is temporary and just there for testing purposes. the game itself ( a flight game ) will have its own movements with respect to the plane.

  4. #4
    mov.w #$1337,D0 Jeremy G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    704
    Checked it out.


    It either IS or LOOKS really slow. An fps indicator would be really nice.


    Looks pretty good my complaint is the water and how it makes the ground appear. Ground seen underneath the water is brighter than ground not underwater which seems a bit counter intuitive as lake-oceanic water is pretty dark and murky. It could use a LOT of lighting as well everything is quite dark.


    Pretty good though. What are you vertex dimensions of the terrain? (ie. 128 by 128)
    c++->visualc++->directx->opengl->c++;
    (it should be realized my posts are all in a light hearted manner. And should not be taken offense to.)

  5. #5
    C++ Developer XSquared's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,718
    Looks nice.
    Naturally I didn't feel inspired enough to read all the links for you, since I already slaved away for long hours under a blistering sun pressing the search button after typing four whole words! - Quzah

    You. Fetch me my copy of the Wall Street Journal. You two, fight to the death - Stewie

  6. #6
    Pursuing knowledge confuted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,916
    Hey, not half bad. I'd say that the forward speed on the controls needs to make it move faster, but you already said they're temporary.
    Away.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    118
    Im not into programming 3D yet, but I think it looks pretty neat. Actually, it's probably not suppost to happen, but it sure looks cool when your skimming across the land and then when your about to hit a mountain, you fly right through the earth and see the underside! I can't wait to get into 3D programming. I guess I better tackle 2D first. Anyways, I thought it looked pretty good.
    "The distinction between past, present and future is only an illussion, even if a stunning one."
    -Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    Crazy Fool Perspective's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,640
    Originally posted by dbgt goten
    Checked it out.
    It either IS or LOOKS really slow. An fps indicator would be really nice.
    well, your right and right. the controlls are a little slow but since they are temporary i didnt bother tweaking them properly. also, i havent added frustum culling to the terrain yet so it might be slow on some comps. fps will come as soon as i look into text, lol.

    Originally posted by dbgt goten

    Looks pretty good my complaint is the water and how it makes the ground appear. Ground seen underneath the water is brighter than ground not underwater which seems a bit counter intuitive as lake-oceanic water is pretty dark and murky. It could use a LOT of lighting as well everything is quite dark.
    hmmm, good call. i havent added much lighting yet (just one light) but i will fix that as things come together. ohhh yeah i forgot to mention, hold down 'L' to turn off lighting.

    Originally posted by dbgt goten

    Pretty good though. What are you vertex dimensions of the terrain? (ie. 128 by 128)
    the terrain is made up of 4 64x64 patches (so yeah, this one is 128x128). thats the thing im most proud of with this terrain engine. i can use as many patches as i want and the terrain links together in sections. so i can build huge worlds. if you look at the 4 bitmaps (terr1_00, terr1_01 ....) those are the 4 sections of the map.

    thanx for all the replies guys!

  9. #9
    Pursuing knowledge confuted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,916
    The water looks a lot better w/out the lighting. Is your light green?
    Away.

  10. #10
    Crazy Fool Perspective's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,640
    Originally posted by blackrat364
    The water looks a lot better w/out the lighting. Is your light green?
    the light has a slight green tint and the water poly is being drawn blue as well as being textured.

    light color = 0.7f, 1.0f, 0.6f

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Continous LOD Terrain Source... Released!
    By Perspective in forum Game Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-18-2006, 12:21 AM
  2. New terrain engine
    By VirtualAce in forum Game Programming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-16-2006, 02:47 AM
  3. Drawing only what you can see (terrain)
    By Eber Kain in forum Game Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-05-2004, 01:19 AM
  4. Terrain algos
    By VirtualAce in forum Game Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2004, 03:50 PM
  5. GL terrain demo preview.
    By Jeremy G in forum Game Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-23-2003, 10:38 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21