Compiler Reviews!

This is a discussion on Compiler Reviews! within the C++ Programming forums, part of the General Programming Boards category; This is the place I made for compiler reviews, not only for myself, but for everyone else that would like ...

  1. #1
    Registered User MrDoomMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    53

    Compiler Reviews!

    This is the place I made for compiler reviews, not only for myself, but for everyone else that would like some good personal opinions about different compilers from different people.

    It would be nice if people could post here, because I'm really interested in hearing opinions on different compilers such as DEV-C++ and MSVB 6.0

    Good luck, and happy posting! I hope this turns out to be a good resource!

    PS: I'm sure it'll be a good source of info, after all, I did make a thread that got over 100 posts! *stands proudly*
    --MrDoomMaster
    The kind of DooM that makes the MooD

  2. #2
    mustang benny bennyandthejets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,401
    I think this has been done at least 300 times before.

    But anyway, the compiler I've used for about 5 years, is MS VC++ 98. I love it. It has a good, user friendly interface. It tells you function parameters, class members, etcetera, so you hardly even need a reference. The best thing is the debugging features. You can place breakpoints anywhere, view disassembled code, the call stack, watch variables, and the list goes on.

    I don't know about all those other free compilers, but don't think I'll ever change from this one. If you can afford it, go for it.
    benforbes@optusnet.com.au
    Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003 Enterprise Architect
    Windows XP Pro

    Code Tags
    Programming FAQ
    Tutorials

  3. #3
    Registered User MrDoomMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    53
    Originally posted by bennyandthejets
    I think this has been done at least 300 times before.

    But anyway, the compiler I've used for about 5 years, is MS VC++ 98. I love it. It has a good, user friendly interface. It tells you function parameters, class members, etcetera, so you hardly even need a reference. The best thing is the debugging features. You can place breakpoints anywhere, view disassembled code, the call stack, watch variables, and the list goes on.

    I don't know about all those other free compilers, but don't think I'll ever change from this one. If you can afford it, go for it.
    is 98 better than 6.0?

    and what about .NET version?
    --MrDoomMaster
    The kind of DooM that makes the MooD

  4. #4
    C++ Witch laserlight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    21,660
    hmm... I wasnt aware of MSVC++ 98
    It isnt free, right?
    Cos your "other free compilers" phrase seemed to indicate that it was free.

    Incidentally, Dev-C++ isnt a compiler, but an IDE that uses the MinGW port of gcc by default.

    I use the IDE, and so far it seems pretty good, though there is no RAD tool.

  5. #5
    mustang benny bennyandthejets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,401
    Originally posted by MrDoomMaster
    is 98 better than 6.0?

    and what about .NET version?
    98 is the same as 6.0. .NET is of course, newer and has more features, but I haven't yet used it so I don't know what to advise. It may not be worth getting it, as it would cost a lot more than VC++ 98. If you're in a company however, and can exploit your budget in devilish ways, then go for .NET.

    It isnt free, right?
    It sure aint. Last I checked, you can get the whole of Visual Studio 6.0 for AU$1700, which I suppose is something like US$1000. Buying the C++ component would be cheaper, but by how much, I don't know.

    Your best bet is to start with a free compiler, because it may be awhile before you actually really need the advanced features offered by a Microsoft product.
    benforbes@optusnet.com.au
    Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003 Enterprise Architect
    Windows XP Pro

    Code Tags
    Programming FAQ
    Tutorials

  6. #6
    Code Goddess Prelude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    9,796
    >Buying the C++ component would be cheaper, but by how much, I don't know.
    The last time I checked prices, VC++.NET was $99US for the standard version. However, while I like the IDE for Visual Studio (no brain required for debugging ), I'm not fond of the compiler itself. GCC, Dev-C++ and Borland have better compilers in my opinion.

    On the other hand, Dev-C++ and Borland have fairly crappy debugging interfaces, so I tend to use command line debuggers for them and GCC...
    My best code is written with the delete key.

  7. #7
    mustang benny bennyandthejets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,401
    I'm not fond of the compiler itself. GCC, Dev-C++ and Borland have better compilers in my opinion.
    I'm not very savvy on compilers. Could you explain how they differ? I assume it is in code optimization and efficiency.
    benforbes@optusnet.com.au
    Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003 Enterprise Architect
    Windows XP Pro

    Code Tags
    Programming FAQ
    Tutorials

  8. #8
    Cat
    Cat is offline
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,571
    VC++ .NET 2003 (7.1) is a really good compiler, actually. It has ANSI C++ compliance that exceeds even GCCs, it can compile every library I've yet thrown at it, and it's pretty easy to use.

    In its compliance, it stands in stark contrast to 6.0 and .NET 2002 (7.0), which had very poor compliance with standards, and often libraries would fail to compile.
    You ever try a pink golf ball, Wally? Why, the wind shear on a pink ball alone can take the head clean off a 90 pound midget at 300 yards.

  9. #9
    Registered User MrDoomMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    53
    OMG VISUAL STUDIO .NET 2003 IS SO AWESOME!!!!

    I just got it today! omg guys... OMG.....
    --MrDoomMaster
    The kind of DooM that makes the MooD

  10. #10
    ...
    ... is offline
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    465
    i have to agree with the .NET guys.

    i got it about 6 months ago, and its simply amazing. i used DEV C++ and VS 6.0 before, but .NET is by far the best ive used. its so intuitive and powerful.
    I came up with a cool phrase to put down here, but i forgot it...

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    230
    .NET is great. nice and easy to use. has all the options for you. the only fault in it is its price.
    C++ Rules!!!!
    ------------
    Microsoft Visual Studio .NET Enterprise

  12. #12
    Even death may die... Dante Shamest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    970
    Visual Studio .NET 2003 is my favourite C++ IDE. Its so powerful yet simple to use.

    I heard VS .NET 2004 (Whidbey) and VS.NET 2005 (Orcas) will be released in the next 2 years.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    135
    Just out of interest, the November issue of Dr Dobb's Journal has a comparison of various C++ compilers for ISO conformance.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    44
    VS .net is great, and we students get it at a much more decent price through the university. ($20 as opposed to about $1200)

    For anybody that's coded in java, you'll find a lot of the .net features try to bring C++ back up to speed with java, and they do it pretty well.
    Check out all my dimensions:
    Height, width, and for a limited time only... Depth!
    -sb

  15. #15
    Even death may die... Dante Shamest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    970
    For anybody that's coded in java, you'll find a lot of the .net features try to bring C++ back up to speed with java, and they do it pretty well.
    Are you talking about managed code? I always felt that C++ was faster and had more features than Java. The managed code thing is only if you're coding for .NET.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. added start menu crashes game
    By avgprogamerjoe in forum Game Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-29-2007, 01:30 PM
  2. Compiler Paths...
    By Cobra in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-26-2006, 04:04 AM
  3. C Compiler and stuff
    By pal1ndr0me in forum C Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-21-2006, 11:07 AM
  4. I can't get this new compiler to work.
    By Loduwijk in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-29-2006, 05:42 AM
  5. how to call a compiler?
    By castlelight in forum C Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-22-2005, 10:28 AM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21