Compilers 101... and your opinion

This is a discussion on Compilers 101... and your opinion within the C++ Programming forums, part of the General Programming Boards category; I jumped in with the Dev-C++, priced the MSVC(which is now in the .net versions), shied away from Borland because ...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    56

    Compilers 101... and your opinion

    I jumped in with the Dev-C++, priced the MSVC(which is now in the .net versions), shied away from Borland because of the ominous postings of having to learn Borland C++... etc., etc., ad infinitum, ad nauseum... LOL!

    But, my question is;

    If I want to learn and find easy tutorials, which compiler is best?
    -Which ones work 'easily' with allegro, GLUT, Dx and other fun stuff?

    For instance, while there are help files on getting Dev-C++ to use Allegro... For some reason my make file command at the dos prompt doesnt make anything and of course wont install allegro thereafter.

    Then Dev-C++ wont work with GLUT... I'm thinking there will ne a lot of info to learn from using GLUT.

    Dx is more of a later concern....

    So anyone want to give their opinions on the different compilers available for the c++ learning?

    Thanks,

    Grumpy
    (and quickly developing Carpal Tunnel Syndrome)

  2. #2
    Registered User major_small's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,787
    i say, stay away from MSVC, and go with either borland or Dev... I'm going with Dev after upgrading from an older borland compiler... both worked fine for what I needed, and Dev has some nice semi-hidden programs that you can take a look into... like one that draws a ball 'bouncing' around the edges in a windows app...
    Join is in our Unofficial Cprog IRC channel
    Server: irc.phoenixradio.org
    Channel: #Tech


    Team Cprog Folding@Home: Team #43476
    Download it Here
    Detailed Stats Here
    More Detailed Stats
    52 Members so far, are YOU a member?
    Current team score: 1223226 (ranked 374 of 45152)

    The CBoard team is doing better than 99.16% of the other teams
    Top 5 Members: Xterria(518175), pianorain(118517), Bennet(64957), JaWiB(55610), alphaoide(44374)

    Last Updated on: Wed, 30 Aug, 2006 @ 2:30 PM EDT

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    56
    Why not MSVC?

    Can it use allegro and Glut?

  4. #4
    Toaster Zach L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,686
    Personally, I prefer Borland to MSVC. At any rate, though, I'd stick with Dev-C++/GCC for a while. No need to jump into the more expensive compilers just yet (and, GCC is a professional grade compiler anyways). You can use Allegro, OpenGL/GLUT with it. I'm sure you can get the DirectX packages somewhere too, but as you said, thats of later concern.
    The word rap as it applies to music is the result of a peculiar phonological rule which has stripped the word of its initial voiceless velar stop.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    249
    Besides the $, why do you prefer other compilers over MSVC?
    Well, there are a few things wrong with your code:

    1) It does not work.
    2) It does not work.
    3) It does not work.

    Hope this helps.

  6. #6
    Toaster Zach L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,686
    I prefer the Borland IDE. Also, the compiler (background compiling) is very nice, and very standard compliant. It optimizes (speed) fairly well, but suffers from a little bit of code bloat (only significant in very small projects) because of some of the libraries it links in (in particular related to VCL). I also much prefer its debugger to MS's. It just always seemed easier to use and slightly more reliable than MSVC (though I really have no complaints about MSVCs stability).

    I've been developing a good bit for IRIX and Linux though, lately, so I've been tending to use GCC. I must say, I like that it is free of the burden of proprietary features (at least for the most part) that both Borland and Microsoft have felt compelled to add.
    The word rap as it applies to music is the result of a peculiar phonological rule which has stripped the word of its initial voiceless velar stop.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    56
    Can gcc be used on windows?


    [edit]
    DOH!!!
    [/edit]

    Nevermind that dumb question...

    I guess a better question is how well does DJGPP perform with all the tutorial code out there?

    Does it puke when fed Dx or other M$-Windows stuff?
    LOL!
    Last edited by Grumpy_Old_Man; 08-20-2003 at 12:08 AM.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    9
    I prefer GCC over the others.. Of course the fact that its free is one of the main reasons.But yea it is a proffessional class compiler, as far as I know it can do most of what the really expensive brand name ones can do.

  9. #9
    C++ Developer XSquared's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,718
    Originally posted by Grumpy_Old_Man
    I guess a better question is how well does DJGPP perform with all the tutorial code out there?
    Considering that it is a DOS compiler, I doubt that it would support Win32.
    Naturally I didn't feel inspired enough to read all the links for you, since I already slaved away for long hours under a blistering sun pressing the search button after typing four whole words! - Quzah

    You. Fetch me my copy of the Wall Street Journal. You two, fight to the death - Stewie

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    56
    Originally posted by XSquared
    Considering that it is a DOS compiler, I doubt that it would support Win32.
    Someone coulda said somethin before I wasted 2 days getting DJGPP, RHIDE, and ALLEGRO setup... LOL!

    At this rate, in abooout one year, I will be able to make a really visually ugly game that plays like the old nintendo... It'll 2 more years to move on up to really bad Super NES type games.

    I hate DOS, It sucked 10 years ago and it sucks even more today.

    I want to push a button and make things happen dammit!

    If I was to "download" MSVC6 and it was only 73Megs... What would be missing?

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    249
    I want to push a button and make things happen dammit!
    Well, there are a few things wrong with your code:

    1) It does not work.
    2) It does not work.
    3) It does not work.

    Hope this helps.

  12. #12
    Cat
    Cat is offline
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,571
    I'll come in on the side of "I like MSVC++". VC++ 7.1 is a great compiler, perhaps the most standards-compliant out there, and I have had no problems with it.

    I dislike Borland because, several years ago when last I used them, their windows wrapper classes (OWL) didn't support Unicode or MBCS applications; I was in the bad position of having to either rewrite 80% of my application or tell international users they were out of luck.

    MFC is another nice advantage of VC++. It's not a substitute for the WinAPI, but when you need to crank out code as fast as you can, it can seriously slash development times. I think both the MFC-only users (who refuse to touch anything WinAPI directly) and the anti-MFC users (who refuse to use anything MFC) are fools; each is a good tool, and each has its uses.

    VC++ versions prior to 7.1 (AKA .NET 2003) are not nearly as good.

    However, before you shell out the cash to buy an expensive piece of software, make sure you like C++ in general. Use free compilers until you're sure you want to make the investment.

  13. #13
    C++ Developer XSquared's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,718
    >>I want to push a button and make things happen dammit!
    Then learn VB.
    Naturally I didn't feel inspired enough to read all the links for you, since I already slaved away for long hours under a blistering sun pressing the search button after typing four whole words! - Quzah

    You. Fetch me my copy of the Wall Street Journal. You two, fight to the death - Stewie

  14. #14
    Toaster Zach L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,686
    Borland dumped OWL a while back, and replaced it with VCL (visual component library). Its a nice library, and BCB's built in support for Delphi components can be quite nice. BCB is also a very standards-compliant compiler.

    Though, stick with GCC and such for a while until, as Cat said, your sure you like the language, and by that time, you'll probably be able to make a better decision about which compiler you want (or perhaps sticking with GCC).
    The word rap as it applies to music is the result of a peculiar phonological rule which has stripped the word of its initial voiceless velar stop.

  15. #15
    Registered User major_small's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,787
    i guess i don't like MSVC because my friend used it and his programs wouldn't compile on my Dev compiler...
    Join is in our Unofficial Cprog IRC channel
    Server: irc.phoenixradio.org
    Channel: #Tech


    Team Cprog Folding@Home: Team #43476
    Download it Here
    Detailed Stats Here
    More Detailed Stats
    52 Members so far, are YOU a member?
    Current team score: 1223226 (ranked 374 of 45152)

    The CBoard team is doing better than 99.16% of the other teams
    Top 5 Members: Xterria(518175), pianorain(118517), Bennet(64957), JaWiB(55610), alphaoide(44374)

    Last Updated on: Wed, 30 Aug, 2006 @ 2:30 PM EDT

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21