Opinion: What's a very complete and up-to-date C++ manual free online?

This is a discussion on Opinion: What's a very complete and up-to-date C++ manual free online? within the C++ Programming forums, part of the General Programming Boards category; Apparently my references are more out of date then i thought. I have a decent C book but no complete ...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    30

    Wink Opinion: What's a very complete and up-to-date C++ manual free online?

    Apparently my references are more out of date then i thought. I have a decent C book but no complete C++ materials and I really can't afford to run out and buy a book for 30-70 dollars right now. Does anyone know of or recomment an online manual that is free and complete for C++. I have never seen quite what I am looking for. Just basic tutorials and faqs.

    When I try to do something inovative (well for a newbie anyways) I can't figure out how to code it because I only have these basics. (My C++ book didn't even list ios::binary as an option =()

    SO, I would appreciate peoples input to find a good reference that won't have me trying 10 different syntaxes to find out how to do something simple =)

    Thanks.
    "...son, what is this COUT << on my birthday card mean?"
    expected ";" line 12, 54, 63, 73....

  2. #2
    Senior Member joshdick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Phildelphia, PA
    Posts
    1,146
    Thinking in C++ by Bruce Eckel is a pretty good book, but it assumes you already know quite a bit and moves rather fast. http://mindview.net/Books/TICPP/ThinkingInCPP2e.html

    Oh, and always search the C Board before posting a question. Senior members get really sick of answering the same question over and over. I am absolutely positive that you could find dozens of threads full of recommendations for books.
    FAQ

    "The computer programmer is a creator of universes for which he alone is responsible. Universes of virtually unlimited complexity can be created in the form of computer programs." -- Joseph Weizenbaum.

    "If you cannot grok the overall structure of a program while taking a shower, you are not ready to code it." -- Richard Pattis.

  3. #3
    Registered User whistlenm1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    124
    Try this:

    ANSI/ISO C++ Professional Handbook. Helps in you have a decent C background.

    http://www.maththinking.com/boat/booksIndex.html

    under languages
    Man's mind once streched by a new idea, never regains its original dimensions
    - Oliver Wendell Holmes

    In other words, if you teach your cat to bark (output) and eat dog food (input) that doesn't make him a dog. It would have to chase cars, chew bones, and have puppies before I'd call it Rover ;-)
    - WaltP

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,662
    "Oh, and always search the C Board before posting a question. Senior members get really sick of answering the same question over and over."

    Totally disregard that. If senior members are sick of answering the same question over and over, then of course they have the option of not answering.
    Last edited by 7stud; 04-24-2003 at 04:44 PM.

  5. #5
    Hardware Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    1,398
    www.dinkumware.com has a complete reference of all the standard header files and their functions.

    However, a search for ios::binary on their site didtn't get any hits.

  6. #6
    Carnivore ('-'v) Hunter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,879
    Totally disregard that. If senior members are sick of answering the same question over and over, then of course they have the option of not answering.
    Indeed, that is an option; but then senior members have to put up with hundreds of redundant threads being created and crowding genuinely important threads off of the first page. And, if they don't answer some of these threads, people often interpret it as being unhelpful and unfriendly.

    Besides, as a general practice, it is usually a good idea to see if your question has been asked before; if it has been and it has been answered, then you have found an answer for yourself without troubling the cboard members. And, besides, you will have found an answer faster than you would have if you waited for a member to read your post and respond. If it has not been answered, then you should post the question, and most members will be glad to help in whatever capacity they can.
    Just Google It. √

    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(") This is bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4
    Does anyone also has some good reference sites on java?

  8. #8
    Even death may die... Dante Shamest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    970
    The whole Java API is documented on http://java.sun.com
    Also, the Java Tutorial they have there is the most comprehensive on the net.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12
    and you can dl Thinking in Java from www.bruceeckel.com
    Brett Kelly

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,662
    "then you have found an answer for yourself without troubling the cboard members"

    lol. If certain members are troubled by beginners posting questions, I suggest they go elsewhere.

    "then senior members have to put up with hundreds of redundant threads being created and crowding genuinely important threads off of the first page"

    lol again. Maybe the people you speak of should go start their own forum and call it "The Important Questions only C++ Forum". Just think, they could appoint a committee and every week scan all the questions emailed to them, and then post only the questions they decide are "important". I nominate you to head the committee and initiate such a move.
    Last edited by 7stud; 04-25-2003 at 07:36 PM.

  11. #11
    Grammar Police HybridM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    355
    7stud, i rarely post here, i just search and usually find my answer. Telling users NOT to search and instead post an already answered question is a waste of everyone's time and energy.

    If anyone has a question then the first thing they should do is search the database...that's what it's there for.

    You might not mind seeing the same question over and over again, but most people eventually get sick of it.

    -Hybrid

    edit: Oh yeah, and don't buy a book by Herb Shildt...that's what i did, and felt cheated when i found out he's somewhat of a fraud.
    Last edited by HybridM; 04-26-2003 at 09:34 AM.

  12. #12
    Carnivore ('-'v) Hunter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,879
    If certain members are troubled by beginners posting questions, I suggest they go elsewhere.
    Oh, I'm not worried about beginners posting questions; I'm just saying that beginners shouldn't post questions that have been answered already. And, besides, answering these questions makes trouble for members, however small, just because it requires the effort of typing a reply or referring to the search feature.
    Just Google It. √

    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(") This is bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    30

    =)

    Well, ge sorry for asking this I guess I get post happy. BUt look at it this way. While this post is new and easily found newbies like me can see it and go dig through some manually before posting some problem like "cout not working" or "how do i read keyboard input".

    Thanks all.
    "...son, what is this COUT << on my birthday card mean?"
    expected ";" line 12, 54, 63, 73....

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,662
    thenrkst,

    Completely ignore those people. Anyone who doesn't like answering questions on a forum can leave. The posters who are criticizing you have a very limited view of the different levels of interaction on a forum, and in general programming questions are so specific that searching through a database is a waste of time--so don't bother. There will always be enough friendly people around to answer your questions, even if they've been asked in one form or another thousands of times.

    Just keep posting, and you'll get your answers and usually within the hour. Good luck.
    Last edited by 7stud; 04-27-2003 at 02:50 PM.

  15. #15
    Carnivore ('-'v) Hunter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,879
    I'm sorry thenrkst, my comments were not directed at you. In fact, I took quite some pains to not mention this thread in my posts; Instead, I was just trying to point out that what 7stud said about "totally disregarding" advice about searching the forum is not completely right; it is a common courtesy to see if you can find an answer on your own before asking others. But, in this case, I don't believe this particular question has been asked recently, and so I don't have any complaint about this thread being created.
    Just Google It. √

    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(") This is bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21