Your opinion

This is a discussion on Your opinion within the C++ Programming forums, part of the General Programming Boards category; Many people and many programmers (my friends and my colleagues) told me "C/C++ is too old language, why not switch ...

  1. #1
    still a n00b Jaguar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    187

    Your opinion

    Many people and many programmers (my friends and my colleagues) told me "C/C++ is too old language, why not switch to Java, C# or MSVB is easier to earn money".
    But I think C/C++ is the best. It is fast, compact and it embeds in all systems.
    May I ask your opinion?
    slackware 10.0; kernel 2.6.7
    gcc 3.4.0; glibc 2.3.2; vim editor
    migrating to freebsd 5.4

  2. #2
    Used Registerer jdinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,065
    I know that in my own experience I've seen a lot more VB jobs (especially if you know SQL and asp) in the business world. I use both C++ and VB (with SQL) at work but about 90% of it is VB. The main advantages of C++ over VB (pointers, inheritance, templates, the speed increase, etc.) don't factor in to a lot of business apps.

    If you can create a robust, server-side database and client quicker with VB then why would you want to use C++ if it doesn't need to make use of any of C++'s benefits.

    I personally prefer C++. VB to me is quite boring. But it pays the bills.

  3. #3
    Refugee face_master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,052
    Smack those poeple in the face. Just becuase a language is older, doesn't make it any less useful.

  4. #4
    Used Registerer jdinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,065
    Originally posted by face_master
    Smack those poeple in the face. Just becuase a language is older, doesn't make it any less useful.
    Yeah, I forgot to respond to that part. The fact that the language is older is a ridiculous arguement. C++ is so much more powerful than VB.

    I don't have experience programming with Java, but I know some of the apps that I've used that were written in Java were S..L...O..W....

  5. #5
    'AlHamdulillah
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    790
    "C/C++ is too old language
    thats like saying chinese is a worthless language, or japenese, or korean, or swahili, or any old old language.

  6. #6
    Banned nickname_changed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    986
    For me, C++ will always be my favorite language. I started Java but stopped because it seemed very fiddly and slow, and I've spent the last few months learning serverside scripting languages like Perl and PHP, and I've been doing a litle OS development with ASM, but none have been as fun as C++.

    I wouldn't mind learning a bit of the Visual Basic though, is there any ways to get a free trial type version or will I have to buy it from MS? (otherwise I'll use the one that comes with excell).

    ~ Paul

  7. #7
    ....
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Groningen (NL)
    Posts
    2,386
    Java is a nice language when it is used in its application areas. At my company we use Java for creating applications in electronics, like mobile phones. For such things it is usefull, but for applications where aspects like speed and real-time behaviour are important, it is not a very good language. So it just depends on for which application area you want to write software.

    And yes, an old language is not necessary a bad language. New languages are invented because new programming theories were developed or new languages were required because of new application areas where the existing languages didn't fit very well. Probably there are more reasons.

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Her opinion, your opinion
    By RoD in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-22-2002, 10:50 AM
  2. A matter of opinion
    By pepperblue255 in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2002, 10:51 PM
  3. Freedom of opinion
    By Shiro in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2002, 07:06 AM
  4. opinion about books
    By clement in forum C Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-24-2001, 05:18 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21