Please review my learning strategy

This is a discussion on Please review my learning strategy within the C++ Programming forums, part of the General Programming Boards category; Well I've decided to learn C++ but thought I might see what people here recommend about my strategy. Please add ...

  1. #1
    Chewbacca
    Guest

    Cool Please review my learning strategy

    Well I've decided to learn C++ but thought I might see what people here recommend about my strategy.

    Please add or correct anything I say

    I was planning on learning the actual C++ language before starting to use any visual programing tools. My first step will be a few online tutorials. Once I've completed all I can find I will probably get a more advanced book to go through.

    Then I was planning on moving to Visual C++ once I'm comfortable with the language.

    Would this be an ok approach?

    Also once I want to start on Visual C++ would I be best with the .net version or VC++7? (thats the latest version other then .net right?)

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Here's the secret to learning c++

    Practice Practice...

    oh yea and Practice

    ALOT...

  3. #3
    x4000 Ruski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Outer Space!
    Posts
    542
    Never tried Visual C++ .NET but 6 seems good enough. Also try get a free C++ compiler while getting to know the language. There is one that's not so bad.. Dev-C++ .. almost all people start with that. You can get it at www.bloodshed.net/dev ... Better download the 4th version as the 5th is still beta and has lots of bugs in it
    Good Luck
    what does signature stand for?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    106
    in my opinion do not just read tutorials or books read them to gether c++ made up of 26 words the only thing makes you programmer is wisdom read read read
    C++ Makes you Feel Better

    "Gravity connot be held reponsible for people falling in love"--Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    12
    Thanks for all the guidance so far. Keep it coming

  6. #6
    x4000 Ruski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Outer Space!
    Posts
    542
    Also, before spending money on any book, check out some tutorials on the web. There are also some good free books on the web. e-books
    what does signature stand for?

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    12
    Yes considering the prices of good books I've decided to do as much as I can online and will borrow some books from my local library

  8. #8
    x4000 Ruski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Outer Space!
    Posts
    542
    There's also a free version of Sams Teach Yourself C++ in 21 days online.. try search for it.
    what does signature stand for?

  9. #9
    Used Registerer jdinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,065

    Re: Please review my learning strategy

    Originally posted by Chewbacca
    Also once I want to start on Visual C++ would I be best with the .net version or VC++7? (thats the latest version other then .net right?)

    Any suggestions?
    VC++ 6 was the latest before .NET. .NET is in essense version 7.

    Are you aware that VC++ is an IDE and doesn't limit you from writing simple, learning programs? If you're saying that you want to learn console programming to get the basics of C++, before trying any WinAPI, MFC, then that's a good idea. But you can do that with VC++.

    Search around google and amazon, there are a handful of books that come with a free copy of VC++ learning edition, which is great to start with and get you used to the IDE. Then when your comfortable with it and have the money you can buy the standard or professional version (which are fairly cheap since .NET came out).

    I tried DevCPP out early on and didn't care for it much, though a lot of people swear by it.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,595
    in looking at Visual C++.net the other day it appears you need the NT operating system. If true, that would be a real drag.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    267
    Yup... that's correct, you need an NT-based version of Windows to run VC++.NET

  12. #12
    x4000 Ruski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Outer Space!
    Posts
    542
    I tried installing VS.NET on 98SE and ME ... wont let me
    what does signature stand for?

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    12
    Originally posted by elad
    in looking at Visual C++.net the other day it appears you need the NT operating system. If true, that would be a real drag.
    I'm running Win XP so I'm ok there.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    267
    Originally posted by Ruski
    I tried installing VS.NET on 98SE and ME ... wont let me
    Yea, like I said... VC++.NET requires an NT based version of Windows (NT/2K/XP)... another reason to move to XP (eventually)

  15. #15
    x4000 Ruski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Outer Space!
    Posts
    542
    Are you sure it'll install on WindowsNT?? Its old now... If it wont stand on 98, how come it will on NT?? And NT's file system isnt the same as XP and 2k
    what does signature stand for?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Machine Learning with Lego Mindstorms
    By DavidP in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-30-2009, 02:34 PM
  2. Need Help On a Simple Bank Program
    By oobootsy1 in forum C# Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-08-2005, 11:51 AM
  3. Fun Learning a New Language
    By UnregdRegd in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-30-2003, 11:03 PM
  4. Learning Rate Of C++
    By Krak in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 01-29-2003, 01:53 PM
  5. API learning reference (for those who are learning)
    By steve_i83 in forum Windows Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2001, 01:58 AM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21