need ur opinion about home study

This is a discussion on need ur opinion about home study within the C++ Programming forums, part of the General Programming Boards category; hi, im studying civil engineering in univercity , while im learning programming in home (self-teaching) the problem that the general ...

  1. #1
    looking for the truth moemen ahmed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    161

    Arrow need ur opinion about home study

    hi, im studying civil engineering in univercity , while im learning programming in home (self-teaching) the problem that the general average rank of the programming study in egypt is not good enough to depend on, so that im trying to make a home semister or something like that to improve my abilities in programming through the summer .
    here is some of the things i ve already done :
    im already experienced with VB programming
    i began to learn C/C++ since 6 monthes
    i ve just finished reading "Teach yourself C++" which gave me the real taste of the C++

    now im intending to go for these books and topics , and im looking for your opinins and suggestions about these books and topics , and if i missed something i should learn first pls notify me

    • effective c++
    • algorithms and data strucure in c++
    • programming windos fifth edition "Pzold"
    • special edition using visual c++


    I spent time to gather these books which seems to me its what I need for now...........
    pls response as im sure ur opinion and ur advice ll be very important for me and for others like me

    thanks in advance
    Programming is a high logical enjoyable art for both programer and user !!

  2. #2
    Registered User foniks munkee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    343
    programming windos fifth edition "Pzold"
    Brilliant book.
    "Queen and huntress, chaste and fair,
    Now the sun is laid to sleep,
    Seated in thy silver chair,
    State in wonted manner keep."

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    273
    agreed,

    "Algorithms" and "Petzold" should give you the best info.

  4. #4
    TK
    Guest
    No, it's not correct. Sure your Effective C++ is a good book and everything and the Petzold book is the best Win32 book, however what a waste.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    273
    TK, you're obviously very opinionated. that's cool but don't discourage the guy from learning it. I think we should all learn linux coding too. I wouldn't call either a waste.

  6. #6
    TK
    Guest
    But I can't help it cause I'm a dumb-a-s-s

  7. #7
    Unregistered
    Guest
    Step outside the books and write your own code/programs as much as possible. Unless you have a photographic memory and are superhuman in your ability to translate theory into reality, I can gaurantee you that writing code is the best teacher. Reading about coding/syntax/program flow/etc. is good, because you need to know where to go find the answers when a problem arises; but writing code is where you really "learn" how to do it.

  8. #8
    looking for the truth moemen ahmed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    161

    Exclamation

    No, it's not correct. Sure your Effective C++ is a good book and everything and the Petzold book is the best Win32 book, however what a waste.

    didnt get ur msg!!! what do u mean ? whats the waste u c here????????????????
    Programming is a high logical enjoyable art for both programer and user !!

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    273
    ignore TK, he's a ballsack

  10. #10
    TK
    Guest
    The selection is not logical. I could explain if you want, but I am working for the next few days. Quite busy.

  11. #11
    TK
    Guest
    Originally posted by Hershlag
    TK, you're obviously very opinionated. that's cool but don't discourage the guy from learning it. I think we should all learn linux coding too. I wouldn't call either a waste.
    I'm calling it a waste because his learning is finished almost as soon as it began. I'm open minded, not opinionated. I'm also Opra Winfrey when I put on a wig and a dress. And when I wear jeans than I'm Mel Gibson.

  12. #12
    Refugee face_master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,052
    so, ur one of those cool shape-shifting people, aye?

  13. #13
    TK
    Guest
    If I was than I would be having some fun with Jennifer Love Hewitt right now.

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Home Study Courses
    By Kane in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2005, 01:23 PM
  2. Home study course on Visual C++, your opion please
    By 747ken in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-14-2003, 10:06 AM
  3. where do u get ur inspiration for ur appilcation?
    By poopy_pants2 in forum Windows Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-05-2003, 10:08 PM
  4. Freedom of opinion
    By Shiro in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2002, 07:06 AM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21