Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By iMalc

Code::Blocks F9 Doesn't Do Anything

This is a discussion on Code::Blocks F9 Doesn't Do Anything within the C++ Programming forums, part of the General Programming Boards category; Hi I'm brand new to Programming and working my way through the C++ tutorial on this site (I've reached lesson ...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    Code::Blocks F9 Doesn't Do Anything

    Hi

    I'm brand new to Programming and working my way through the C++ tutorial on this site (I've reached lesson 2!). I'm having a problem that is probably just me doing something stupid.
    When I open Code::Blocks and my Project, I can click F9 and it compiles and runs. If I then make any changes to the code, F9 does nothing. The Green Run shortcut icon is not highlighted and if I go to the Build tab on the main menu, that too is greyed out.
    Even if I open a new project, F9 does nothing. The only way I can get it to compile and run again is to shut down Code::Blocks and restart it.
    Any ideas? Even if I'm just being really, really stupid?!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    and the hat of wrongness Salem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The edge of the known universe
    Posts
    32,590
    What kind of program (console or windows)

    When you ran it, did it actually finish, or is it waiting for the "press any key to exit" type thing?
    If you dance barefoot on the broken glass of undefined behaviour, you've got to expect the occasional cut.
    If at first you don't succeed, try writing your phone number on the exam paper.
    I support http://www.ukip.org/ as the first necessary step to a free Europe.

  3. #3
    Algorithm Dissector iMalc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    6,307
    This doesn't happen to me.
    You'd probably be better off posting on the code blocks forum: Code::Blocks - Index
    ANd of course, it would be very helpful if you mention vital information such as version number, operating system & version etc.
    stahta01 likes this.
    My homepage
    Advice: Take only as directed - If symptoms persist, please see your debugger

    Linus Torvalds: "But it clearly is the only right way. The fact that everybody else does it some other way only means that they are wrong"

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2
    Hi Salem and iMalc - thanks for taking the trouble to reply.

    I think I've worked out where I'm going wrong. I have been copying and pasting the example codes into the project window and it's after doing that I find I can't Run. I guess I'll just stop doing that!

    Appreciate your advice about the vital information I need if I'm asking for any more help. Just for the record, I'm in Code::Blocks 10.05 and running Windows 7 on a 64bit machine.

    Thanks again


    Quote Originally Posted by iMalc View Post
    This doesn't happen to me.
    You'd probably be better off posting on the code blocks forum: Code::Blocks - Index
    ANd of course, it would be very helpful if you mention vital information such as version number, operating system & version etc.

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Code::Blocks
    By bijan311 in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2010, 04:36 PM
  2. Code::Blocks Help
    By rakeshkool27 in forum C Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 07:25 AM
  3. Code::Blocks doesn't like my enums and typedefs
    By muehl in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-12-2009, 09:48 AM
  4. Code::Blocks doesn't have mac x port??
    By code2d in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-14-2007, 07:28 AM
  5. Dev and Code Blocks
    By swgh in forum Game Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2006, 07:21 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21