opinion about books

This is a discussion on opinion about books within the C Programming forums, part of the General Programming Boards category; Hi there. I just need from all of our members opinion about C books reference. Which book will be better? ...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    5

    opinion about books

    Hi there. I just need from all of our members opinion about C books reference. Which book will be better? I found that most of our members prefer to using C:How to program. But my lecturer suggest to use A First Book of ANSI C. Which book will you prefer? Anybody? I don't have the C:How to program. So I need all of your opinion.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    247
    Hi,
    I would highly recommend "Teach Yourself C", by Herbert Schildt. Easy reading, lots of exercises for you to attempt.
    hoping to be certified (programming in c)
    here's the news - I'm officially certified.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    4

    Post

    There are loads of good books. I would recommend one called 'The C programming language', by Brian Kernahan.
    Allegedly he developed the language and it has some good easy to follow examples.

  4. #4
    Mayor of Awesometown Govtcheez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    8,825
    >Allegedly he developed the language and it has some good easy to follow examples.

    Allegedly nothin'... He and Dennis Ritchie did develop it...

    If you want some basic ones, try the for dummies series or teach yourself c in 21 days.

  5. #5
    Skunkmeister Stoned_Coder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,572
    the best straight c book i have read is :-

    C unleashed.

    but its probably not for the newbie!!
    Free the weed!! Class B to class C is not good enough!!
    And the FAQ is here :- http://faq.cprogramming.com/cgi-bin/smartfaq.cgi

  6. #6
    aurė entuluva! mithrandir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,209
    I started with C: How to Program, and I still refer to it when I'm stuck. It's okay to begin with, but probably a bit fast for a begginer (at least thats what I found). Teach yourself C in 24 hours is good to get you started with. I would say get two books - one which is fairly simple for you to understand, and one which goes into more depth. That way you have two different but good references, and are twice as likely to succeed. hth.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    19
    Pointers on C - Reek

    It's a little more advanced, but an excellent reference.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    35
    The Dummies series isn't that bad!

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. C++ Books
    By Darklighter in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-03-2006, 07:13 PM
  2. sig. Books on C++ for beginners
    By Mario in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-20-2002, 05:54 PM
  3. Good books?
    By Unregistered in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-10-2002, 01:58 PM
  4. Freedom of opinion
    By Shiro in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2002, 07:06 AM
  5. Books Books Books
    By aresashura in forum Game Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-28-2001, 09:08 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21