What is your personal opinion on C

This is a discussion on What is your personal opinion on C within the C Programming forums, part of the General Programming Boards category; Do you think that the popularity of the language is dying because of the creation of C++ or what?...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    156

    What is your personal opinion on C

    Do you think that the popularity of the language is dying because of the creation of C++ or what?
    Compiler: MingW(IDE: Bloodshed Dev-C++ 4.01)
    Web Site: Zoo Crew
    Forums: Zoo Boards
    E-mail: goldenbunny84@hotmail.com

    "Do you wanna go to jail or do you wanna go home?!?!" - Alonzo(Training Day)

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    88
    I dont think so

    C is easy and advends programming languege
    better then pascal
    and easier than C++

  3. #3
    My diaper's full....... stevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    759
    nickel you pickle
    Steve

  4. #4
    ....
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Groningen (NL)
    Posts
    2,386
    I think the popularity of C in some application area's is decreasing. But the reason is not that C++ was created, but software development changed. Many designs these days are object oriented, so developers will choose a language in which it is efficient to implement such designs.

  5. #5
    My diaper's full....... stevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    759
    as far as careers go.....
    i've been searching the web and elsewhere for a C programming job in the UK (presume things are similar in USA) and most ask for C/C++ .....as if either will be ok.
    i trained in C and am teaching myself C++ which is easy enuff when you've got C.
    also there are lots of jobs for Visual C++, so i'm currently learning that.
    it seems pretty interesting, windows stuff etc.........
    lots of jobs for Visual Basic programmers too.....
    Steve

  6. #6
    ....
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Groningen (NL)
    Posts
    2,386
    There's also a lot of jobs for Java programmers. Java is currently applied in many areas: internet, embedded, etc. It is often assumed, when applying to a job with C++ or Java, that you know about object oriented design.

  7. #7
    My diaper's full....... stevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    759
    yeah java is very popular
    i guess i'll add that to my list of stuff to learn............but when i learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out !!
    Steve

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Compare with this opinion PM
    By vart in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-23-2009, 08:40 PM
  2. Need a second opinion - code error and i cant see it
    By bigfootneedhelp in forum C Programming
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-25-2007, 06:02 AM
  3. Her opinion, your opinion
    By RoD in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-22-2002, 09:50 AM
  4. Freedom of opinion
    By Shiro in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2002, 06:06 AM
  5. opinion about books
    By clement in forum C Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-24-2001, 04:18 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21