Need some opinions

This is a discussion on Need some opinions within the A Brief History of Cprogramming.com forums, part of the Community Boards category; I've been hard at work on my new website. So far only the email and forums are up and working. ...

  1. #1
    Registered User Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    335

    Need some opinions

    I've been hard at work on my new website. So far only the email and forums are up and working. I'll soon have a place where users can upload or download free source code to help promote the open source community. But for now I'm just looking for opinions on my site and forum style. Could you guys please take a look and let me know what you think?

    Dev-Lounge

  2. #2
    Unregistered
    Guest
    not much there to comment on, and the forums remind me a lot of flashdaddee. Your site's appearance blows flashdaddee out of the water, though.

  3. #3
    Registered User Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    335
    Originally posted by Unregistered
    and the forums remind me a lot of flashdaddee.
    Guess who did that design

    Thanks for the positive comments though.

  4. #4
    Registered User Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    335
    Any other comments/opinions/thoughts?

  5. #5
    junior member mix0matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    144
    looks good. I'm just seeing one button with "Link Name" as the caption, and it doesn't do anything but spawn a new instance of itself. There's no link to the forums that i can find. You may be working on it now, but i though i let you know what i was seeing at 12:12pm CST. i'm using Mozilla 0.9.2.1...

  6. #6
    Registered User Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    335
    I think it's something to do with the browser. Is it Javascript enabled?

  7. #7
    Registered User rick barclay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    835
    Originally posted by Unregistered
    not much there to comment on, and the forums remind me a lot of flashdaddee. Your site's appearance blows flashdaddee out of the water, though.

    Are you stupid, Chris, or are you just stoopid.

    rick
    No. Wait. Don't hang up!

    This is America calling!

  8. #8
    Registered User Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    335
    Huh? What are you talking about?

    -Edit: Oh I see, you think I posted that. Do you? If so, I wouldn't need to say that because I know my new site looks better than FD since I worked hard on it. So no, that wasn't me.

    I'm not trying to start any flames/arguments with you or anyone else. I just want some opinions from people on my site's look so far. Please don't turn this into something it's not.
    Last edited by Fool; 12-17-2001 at 01:45 PM.

  9. #9
    Registered User Natase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    123
    In all fairness, the site's main page does look extremely nice. I don't like the colour scheme of the forums though. A suggestion box is also a great idea.

    Good luck to ye...

  10. #10
    Peace
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,510
    Oh I see, you think I posted that. Do you?
    Just to clear anything up here before it even has a change in hell of getting started: AFAIK he didnt post that [unregistered post]. The IPs dont match anyways.
    "There's always another way"
    -lightatdawn (lightatdawn.cprogramming.com)

  11. #11
    Registered User Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    335
    Originally posted by Natase
    In all fairness, the site's main page does look extremely nice. I don't like the colour scheme of the forums though. A suggestion box is also a great idea.

    Good luck to ye...
    Ooo! That is a good idea. Thanks!

  12. #12
    Registered User Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    335
    Originally posted by lightatdawn
    Just to clear anything up here before it even has a change in hell of getting started: AFAIK he didnt post that [unregistered post]. The IPs dont match anyways.
    Thank you for clearing that up.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    207
    Chris, I've tried to have a look, but it doesn't load.

    Having any problem?

  14. #14
    junior member mix0matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    144
    Is it Javascript enabled?
    yeah, javascript is enabled. i'll take a look at it with Netscape after your site's back up.

  15. #15
    Registered User Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    335
    If it's not loading for some, it's probably because the DNS hasn't refreshed yet. But the forums or site are not ready for normal use yet, I still need to renew my vB license and finish up some of the main site pages. It should be completed by the end of the month/year

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions on custom system build
    By lightatdawn in forum Tech Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 05:15 AM
  2. Opinions?
    By Decrypt in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2005, 06:29 PM
  3. Opinions on where to start?
    By mitchell_annix in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-03-2005, 11:18 PM
  4. Favors and Opinions
    By sean in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-01-2003, 11:04 PM
  5. C++ Opinions
    By Cgawd in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-28-2002, 06:01 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21