Cool Computer Thread

This is a discussion on Cool Computer Thread within the A Brief History of Cprogramming.com forums, part of the Community Boards category; Intel P4 2.66GHz 1024MB RAM 120GB Internal + 80GB External 7200RPM HDDrive 52x32x52x CD-RW 12x DVD+RW+DL drive 5.1 Altec Lansing ...

  1. #31
    A Banana Yoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    857
    Intel P4 2.66GHz
    1024MB RAM
    120GB Internal + 80GB External 7200RPM HDDrive
    52x32x52x CD-RW
    12x DVD+RW+DL drive
    5.1 Altec Lansing Speakers
    Logitech LX700 Keyboard Mouse combo
    NV GeForce FX5200 128MB with DVI
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    3 IEEE1394
    Dell CASE!
    Yoshi

  2. #32
    UT2004 Addict Kleid-0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    656
    Quote Originally Posted by Yoshi
    Intel P4 2.66GHz
    1024MB RAM
    120GB Internal + 80GB External 7200RPM HDDrive
    52x32x52x CD-RW
    12x DVD+RW+DL drive
    5.1 Altec Lansing Speakers
    Logitech LX700 Keyboard Mouse combo
    NV GeForce FX5200 128MB with DVI
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    3 IEEE1394
    Dell CASE!
    C'mon you guys, you've got to tell us if Bluetooth is enabled on your motherboard, that's how you tell if it's cool or not. :P

    [edit]
    Nice computer though Yoshi! :]
    Last edited by Kleid-0; 07-22-2005 at 07:31 PM.

  3. #33
    Peace
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,510
    >> And I just have to LOL at the fact that you still have a floppy drive. That's sooo 2003. n00b.

    Tell me you're joking. I litterally wouldn't buy a computer without a floppy drive. Seriously. Bootdisks man, bootdisks!

    >> C'mon you guys, you've got to tell us if Bluetooth is enabled on your motherboard, that's how you tell if it's cool or not.

    Oooh ooh! I want one of those Bluetooth cellphones too! Because getting viruses on only my comp is just boring!

    
    os!]/dp

    =D-\-<

    (If you figure it out, it's a joke BTW)
    I'm assuming that those first 4 characters aren't displaying properly in this format.... So, I don't get it...
    "There's always another way"
    -lightatdawn (lightatdawn.cprogramming.com)

  4. #34
    5|-|1+|-|34|) ober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    4,429
    Quote Originally Posted by lightatdawn
    Tell me you're joking. I litterally wouldn't buy a computer without a floppy drive. Seriously. Bootdisks man, bootdisks!
    Quite the contrary. There are so many other things you can boot to (cd, USB jumpdrive, etc), that there is no reason to have a floppy drive anymore. I didn't put one in the PC I built for myself this past christmas, and I don't think I'll ever use one again. I honestly can't tell you the last time I even used a floppy drive. We've even converted our bootdisks at work to CD.

  5. #35
    UT2004 Addict Kleid-0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    656
    Oh jeezus you guys are arguing on the usage of floppy drives in our current age!? Well, I think the only reason to have a floppy is to be able to work more better with older machines, like my good ol' 333Mhz pwn (but kind of sucks because it doesn't have Bluetooth enabled on the motherboard lol...and it doesn't have a cdrom either..but bluetooth is more important).

    But remember ober, when I install a kernel, lilo doesn't ask me if I want to burn a CD boot disk, it asks me to create a boot floppy disk. Though you could just say no and then burn a CD...oh whatever, I hate arguements lol.

  6. #36
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    594
    yea i unpluged my floppy long time ago, it just take up space and
    power havent used it in years.

  7. #37
    *this
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    498
    Who cares about bluetooth, my laptop has it, I dont even use it.

    My specs...

    Laptop: Toshiba

    Pentium 4 3ghz with HT
    512 mb ddr2 ram
    nvidia gforce fx go 64mb
    widescreen res of 1440 x 900
    dvd burner
    wireless atheros built in
    winxp pro and slackware dual boot
    60 gig hd
    (on a side note, laptop can handle bf2 but with low textures. it definetly can handle counter-strike source)

    ------------------
    server: slackware custom build
    2.2 ghz amd
    2 gigs of error corrected ram
    120 gig hd
    40 gig hd

    -----------
    Cluster: variety
    O/S = clusterKnoppix
    10 computers hooked up as a cluster
    best ones: 1 ghz and 733mhz
    Total combined cpu speed = 5 ghz
    total combined memory = 1 gig

    Dont ever use floppys, for window you can create your own boot cd or use xp cd. For linux you can use a live cd or create your own.

    Spare stuff:
    8 Monitors, 1 LCD (busted though)
    2 cd writers
    3 broken comps
    Last edited by JoshR; 07-25-2005 at 01:34 PM.

  8. #38
    S Sang-drax's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Göteborg, Sweden
    Posts
    2,072
    Hehe, I had to go look in the control panel, because I didn't know the CPU speed of my primary laptop. Remarkable. It is an Acer Travelmate 4000 with a 1.5 GHz Pentium M. I bought it 6 months ago.
    I need to get more memory, right now I'm at 512 MB -- it makes WoW lag in IF.
    Last edited by Sang-drax; 07-25-2005 at 02:04 PM.

  9. #39
    UT2004 Addict Kleid-0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    656
    Quote Originally Posted by Sang-drax
    I need to get more memory, right now I'm at 512 MB -- it makes WoW lag in IF.
    What does `IF` stand for?

    -Intermediate frequency?
    -Instrument flying?
    -Is it a location in WoW?

    Quote Originally Posted by JoshR
    Who cares about bluetooth, my laptop has it, I dont even use it.
    I don't use it either, but the name is so cool :]

    Quote Originally Posted by JoshR
    server: slackware custom build
    2.2 ghz amd
    2 gigs of error corrected ram
    120 gig hd
    40 gig hd
    What kind of server software do you have on your server? Webserver? Database? IRCD? SSH? FTP? POP3? SMTP? DNS? Samba? SHTTP? SFTP? Mp3 media streamer? (are you impressed yet by my enormous list? lol)
    Last edited by Kleid-0; 07-25-2005 at 03:01 PM.

  10. #40
    S Sang-drax's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Göteborg, Sweden
    Posts
    2,072
    Quote Originally Posted by Kleid-0
    -Is it a location in WoW?
    Yes.
    Last edited by Sang-drax : Tomorrow at 02:21 AM. Reason: Time travelling

  11. #41
    C++ Developer XSquared's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,718
    Sang, no amount of RAM will prevent IF lag... just try to avoid the pit.
    Naturally I didn't feel inspired enough to read all the links for you, since I already slaved away for long hours under a blistering sun pressing the search button after typing four whole words! - Quzah

    You. Fetch me my copy of the Wall Street Journal. You two, fight to the death - Stewie

  12. #42
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    277
    Quote Originally Posted by mrafcho001
    LOL, well i got caugh with pr0n once... it wasn't too long ago.
    My dad was just screwing around my computer(Without me knowing) and he found the porn it(48Gb back in the day) and deleted it all. When i came home i realized my porn was gone but didn't know what to do, so i was waiting for my parents to come in the room yelling at me or something, but that never happened either. so i go to them (in the living room) see whats going on. So im seating there watching TV with them and waiting for something to happen, but nothing happened. It was very scarry day. so know i hide my folders.. my dad isn't smart enough to find them
    Use linux same pr0n into a hidden account and you are done. Just dont give your dad root password.

  13. #43
    A Banana Yoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    857
    Laptop: Toshiba
    Pentium 4 3ghz with HT
    512 mb ddr2 ram
    nvidia gforce fx go 64mb
    widescreen res of 1440 x 900
    dvd burner
    wireless atheros built in
    Juicy? Bloodsucker?
    Yoshi

  14. #44
    Registered User major_small's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,787
    desktop: http://www.johnshaoonline.com/misc/images/screen.jpg

    specs (what I remember):
    CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz
    OS: linux-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
    MEMORY: 1gB (2x 512mB)
    HARD DRIVES: two, one big one small
    CD/DVD DRIVES: one dvd+/-rw, one cd-rw
    FLOPPY DRIVES: one
    CASE: Themaltake something-or-other
    OTHER: some other things and a bunch of wires.
    specs (what my xchat script tells me - it's wrong about the OS for some reason though):
    os[Linux 2.6.11-gentoo-r6 - ] up[ 1 days, 10 hours, 18 minutes] cpu[Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz, 1800.098 MHz (3547.13 bogomips)] mem[ 863.56/883.77 MB (97.7% [||||||||||])] video[nVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400] (rev 178). at 1280x1024 (24 bits)]
    and yes, I have bluetooth (but not from my motherboard)
    Last edited by major_small; 07-27-2005 at 09:46 PM.
    Join is in our Unofficial Cprog IRC channel
    Server: irc.phoenixradio.org
    Channel: #Tech


    Team Cprog Folding@Home: Team #43476
    Download it Here
    Detailed Stats Here
    More Detailed Stats
    52 Members so far, are YOU a member?
    Current team score: 1223226 (ranked 374 of 45152)

    The CBoard team is doing better than 99.16% of the other teams
    Top 5 Members: Xterria(518175), pianorain(118517), Bennet(64957), JaWiB(55610), alphaoide(44374)

    Last Updated on: Wed, 30 Aug, 2006 @ 2:30 PM EDT

  15. #45
    UT2004 Addict Kleid-0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    656
    Major small that is so awesome. Our computers resemble so well. I loved your desktop image! Be sure if you play a game, that it's not on KDE, because that baby slows things down. I use KDE too!! :] I use KHotKeys, and you should too!!! You can link like the WIN+P key to Pause/Play XMMS, and loads of other cool stuff! Just reply that you want to know more about KHotKeys, I'll share more knowledge on my next post, it makes KDE perfect for workplace speed.

    I made a small error-prone article on Linux Wiki you should check out:
    http://wiki.linuxquestions.org/wiki/...ter_for_gaming

    Some things change because you're on Gentoo. I'm on Debian, have you ever tried any other linux flavors? I've only tried Debian.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. pointer to main thread from worker thread?
    By draegon in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2005, 06:35 AM
  2. Major Computer Problem
    By Olidivera in forum Tech Board
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-15-2005, 11:15 AM
  3. Tabbed Windows with MDI?
    By willc0de4food in forum Windows Programming
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 05-19-2005, 10:58 PM
  4. Computer will not boot.
    By RealityFusion in forum Tech Board
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 09-10-2004, 04:05 PM
  5. Cool computer options
    By Drewpee in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2001, 07:53 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21