Opinions on MCAD/MCSD?

This is a discussion on Opinions on MCAD/MCSD? within the A Brief History of Cprogramming.com forums, part of the Community Boards category; I am about to graduate with a BS in CS and I was thinking about studying up for an MCAD ...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    32

    Opinions on MCAD/MCSD?

    I am about to graduate with a BS in CS and I was thinking about studying up for an MCAD and maybe eventually an MCSD, but I am not sure if it is worth my time to do it if not specifically requested by an employer.

    I know C and C++ and I have played around with C# a little bit, so I would go with the C# track. I would also be using books instead of taking a class.

    Am I nuts or does this make sense? The job market is killing me right now. Everyone wants experience and no one is even calling me back on entry level jobs. An unpaid internship is not an option for me. My goals are to learn C#, be a better programmer, and to make myself more employable.

  2. #2
    and the hat of wrongness Salem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The edge of the known universe
    Posts
    32,484
    The only qualification I know of is MCSE which is Minesweeper Consultant and Solitaire Expert
    If you dance barefoot on the broken glass of undefined behaviour, you've got to expect the occasional cut.
    If at first you don't succeed, try writing your phone number on the exam paper.
    I support http://www.ukip.org/ as the first necessary step to a free Europe.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by Salem
    The only qualification I know of is MCSE which is Minesweeper Consultant and Solitaire Expert
    LOL. That is exactly why I am posting here before I jump into this.

  4. #4
    Senior Member joshdick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Phildelphia, PA
    Posts
    1,146
    I don't know whether companies will want a graduated person for this, but there are paid internships.

    Also, you could try developing for a big open source project to demonstrate to employers that you have experience in software development of significant projects.
    FAQ

    "The computer programmer is a creator of universes for which he alone is responsible. Universes of virtually unlimited complexity can be created in the form of computer programs." -- Joseph Weizenbaum.

    "If you cannot grok the overall structure of a program while taking a shower, you are not ready to code it." -- Richard Pattis.

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions?
    By Decrypt in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2005, 05:29 PM
  2. Opinions on where to start?
    By mitchell_annix in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-03-2005, 10:18 PM
  3. Favors and Opinions
    By sean in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-01-2003, 10:04 PM
  4. C++ Opinions
    By Cgawd in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-28-2002, 05:01 PM
  5. More Opinions!
    By Govtcheez in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-01-2001, 06:37 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21