Public opinion reports (PIPA)

This is a discussion on Public opinion reports (PIPA) within the A Brief History of Cprogramming.com forums, part of the Community Boards category; Please who cares what the europeans think, look what they did when they were the world superpower's the world was ...

  1. #31
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    250
    Please who cares what the europeans think, look what they did when they were the world superpower's the world was taken over.Its not a popularity contest i doubt you will find to many superpowers that were "loved" in the world because they have to do all the dirty work.If i was american i would vote for bush anyday (im australian)

  2. #32
    train spotter
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    near a computer
    Posts
    3,853
    >>who cares what the europeans think

    Microsoft for a start. US$5mill/day fine seems gets even Bill's attention.

    >>If i was american i would vote for bush anyday (im australian)

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! say its not so......
    "Man alone suffers so excruciatingly in the world that he was compelled to invent laughter."
    Friedrich Nietzsche

    "I spent a lot of my money on booze, birds and fast cars......the rest I squandered."
    George Best

    "If you are going through hell....keep going."
    Winston Churchill

  3. #33
    Mayor of Awesometown Govtcheez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    8,825

    Remember FOX spent years in court (fighting former employees FOX sacked for not altering a bad report on Monsanto) that it did not have to obey FCC regulations (to report the news fairly) and WON!
    Yet CBS(?) got fined US$550,000 by the FCC for allowing Janet Jacksons boob on TV.
    Fox News is a cable organization and is not governed by FCC rules. They could say whatever they wanted and get away with it. CBS isn't.
    The news (especially in America) is about the most biased report you'll ever get, very simply because anyone who says the SLIGHTEST thing against Bush gets fired in short order.
    As was pointed out, this is just wrong.

    no-one - There's no point in replying to your posts; you haven't attempted to debate any of the points that have been brought up at all. You've relied on the "You're wrong because I know something but I won't tell you what it is but you're wrong and you're wrong" school of debating this whole time. Grow up, if you want to be taken seriously.
    Last edited by Govtcheez; 02-03-2005 at 05:42 AM.

  4. #34
    Toaster Zach L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,686
    If i was american i would vote for bush anyday (im australian)
    But by your own reasoning, we should ignore your opinion too.
    The word rap as it applies to music is the result of a peculiar phonological rule which has stripped the word of its initial voiceless velar stop.

  5. #35
    Has a Masters in B.S.
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,267
    i guess this is what i get for argueing with a bunch of liberals... always the same when you argue with them... they're never arguing the point... they argue the person... WOO you rock!

    >
    Sure. Just remember this will cause people to do bad things to the US and its citizens (ie S11)
    <

    if you take it totally out of context sure thing... but if you take what i said in the context it was said, no way in hell...

    >
    no-one - There's no point in replying to your posts; you haven't attempted to debate any of the points that have been brought up at all. You've relied on the "You're wrong because I know something but I won't tell you what it is but you're wrong and you're wrong" school of debating this whole time. Grow up, if you want to be taken seriously.
    <

    ... maybe you should try reading what i say... and maybe try arguing on point... and maybe try actually responding to whats said instead of whatever nonsense you can pull out of your asses...

    i dont care... this is a total waste of time...
    ADVISORY: This users posts are rated CP-MA, for Mature Audiences only.

  6. #36
    Carnivore ('-'v) Hunter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,879
    >>As was pointed out, this is just wrong.
    My mistake then, it was the distinct impression I was getting. Perhaps I'll do a little more research before the next time I post.

    i guess this is what i get for argueing with a bunch of liberals... always the same when you argue with them... they're never arguing the point... they argue the person... WOO you rock!
    Well, you're doing the same thing. People have refuted your arguments, and you haven't said a thing in reply other than "well in context I'm right".

    if you take it totally out of context sure thing... but if you take what i said in the context it was said, no way in hell...
    I don't see what context you're speaking of.
    Quote Originally Posted by no-one
    the U.S. can do whatever it wants, including ignore everybody, stomp on ANYBODY we want, and anything else that suited our whims, thats another reason other nations hate us... we are benevolent by choice.
    Quote Originally Posted by novacain
    Sure. Just remember this will cause people to do bad things to the US and its citizens
    Novacain's point is very relevant; if the US decides to go and stomp on people then people will rise up and stomp back - perhaps on the US's toes only, but it will hurt enough to make the gain less than the effort. Therefore the US is not 'benevolent' by choice, but because it is unwise to act otherwise. And besides, nations respect nations that are truly benevolent (i.e. act in the interest of other nations without stepping on others' toes); if the US is hated for their 'benevolence', then obviously it isn't benevolent.
    Last edited by Hunter2; 02-03-2005 at 05:11 PM.
    Just Google It. √

    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(") This is bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

  7. #37
    Mayor of Awesometown Govtcheez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    8,825
    > ... maybe you should try reading what i say... and maybe try arguing on point... and maybe try actually responding to whats said instead of whatever nonsense you can pull out of your asses...

    I have argued the point, which you just keep sidestepping by say "you missed my point but i'm not going to explain it anymore" and "omg all liberals are all the same". If I was attacking you, you'd know it. Rebut one of the points I've made so far. I dare you.

  8. #38
    Has a Masters in B.S.
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,267
    >Novacain's point is very relevant;

    quite right, i missed what he was saying i missed that he was citing the entire paragraph and not just the quoted part... my apologies.

    > if the US decides to go and stomp on people then people will rise up and stomp back - perhaps on the US's toes only, but it will hurt enough to make the gain less than the effort. Therefore the US is not 'benevolent' by choice, but because it is unwise to act otherwise. And besides, nations respect nations that are truly benevolent (i.e. act in the interest of other nations without stepping on others' toes); if the US is hated for their 'benevolence', then obviously it isn't benevolent.
    <

    this is a cyclic hypothetical argument that is entirely aside from the point i was trying to make so... whatever... for explaination GOVT. its the same as the old "My dad could beat up your dad." its aside the point and a waste of time... so why waste my time?

    >"omg all liberals are all the same".

    your absolutely right... i should have said politicians... doesnt matter liberal or conservative...

    >Rebut one of the points I've made so far. I dare you.

    now this is just getting silly... i have... and nothing you've said is any less opinion than anything i've said, we're arguing opinions... or your take/belief versus mine... you think by tag teaming me you will make yourselves more legitimate and the facts less than they are?
    just because there are like five of you claiming your opinion is more valid than mine, that means yours is fact, im high, stupid, inept, indignent, and anything i've said valid or not can be ignored? im done here... the lot of you can ........ off.
    Last edited by no-one; 02-03-2005 at 06:50 PM.
    ADVISORY: This users posts are rated CP-MA, for Mature Audiences only.

  9. #39
    Mayor of Awesometown Govtcheez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    8,825
    > now this is just getting silly... i have...

    Where?

    > and nothing you've said is any less opinion than anything i've said, we're arguing opinions... or your take/belief versus mine...

    Except that your argument's been pretty much exclusively opinions, whereas I've had facts backing up most of mine. Just because you're ignoring them doesn't mean they're not there.

    Let's do a quick rundown of my arguments:
    -Saddam had nothing to do with 9/11. This is a FACT and is backed up by the findings of the 9/11 commision
    -Saddam had only a tenuous connection with al-Qaeda. Again, according to the 9/11 commision, the only connection they had was when OBL asked Saddam for money and was turned down
    -Saddam had no giant stockpiles of WMDs, as we were promised before going to war. This is pretty obvious - the UN inspectors didn't find any, our soldiers didn't find any, no one's found any.
    -Most of the people voting for Bush voted either based on their dislike of gay people ("moral values") or their fear of brown people ("terrorism"). This is partially opinion, but is backed strongly by polls of Bush voters
    -The majority of Bush voters live in places that have almost no chance of being attacked by terrorists. Pretty much all big cities went overwhelmingly to Kerry. You can examine any election results map to see this.
    -Polls throughout the world say that people don't respect Bush. You insist that the polls say the opposite, while decrying them as worthless in the same breath. Look at any of the polls. You're wrong.

    There are many conservative people I've debated with who have either made me re-examine or change my views. You are not one of those, because you're just spouting the same tired crap I could see on Fox News 7 nights a week.
    Last edited by Govtcheez; 02-04-2005 at 05:03 AM.

  10. #40
    Has a Masters in B.S.
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,267
    >Where?

    apparently we're reading different threads... or your blind or something...

    >Except that your argument's been pretty much exclusively opinions, whereas I've had facts backing up most of mine. Just because you're ignoring them doesn't mean they're not there.
    <

    ... mhmmm....

    >Saddam had nothing to do with 9/11. This is a FACT and is backed up by the findings of the 9/11 commision

    no its not, from what i heard of it there are many indications he knew about it before hand... as i said its as yet UNCONFIRMED. ie. not enough evidence to prove it, as i said... and as i also said its irrelevant to the freaking discussion, so i dont give a crap... and i'm not going into it .......... all you want...

    >Saddam had only a tenuous connection with al-Qaeda. Again, according to the 9/11 commision, the only connection they had was when OBL asked Saddam for money and was turned down

    not what i heard... they were talking all the time... among other things i can't remember at the moment, again this is irrelevant to the discussion... so i dont care...

    >-Saddam had no giant stockpiles of WMDs, as we were promised before going to war. This is pretty obvious - the UN inspectors didn't find any, our soldiers didn't find any, no one's found any.

    YES he did, nobody can deny he had them uness your a conspiracy idiot, that much crap doesn't just vanish, what the hell did he do with them? i remember hearing they found small amounts of chemical weapons somewhere... and they've found equipment for them... that was well maintained... he was also required to account for those weapons as well in the resolution, he failed to do so, among many other things... again this is IRRELEVANT... so I DO NOT CARE.

    besides if this is what your talking about, i totally agree they should have found them, or should have been able to before the war.

    >
    Most of the people voting for Bush voted either based on their dislike of gay people ("moral values") or their fear of brown people ("terrorism").
    <

    this is ........ing bull........... i think it was 70% of people on average voted againts gay marrige if thats what you mean, as i recall he got only 51 or 52% of the vote... so your "opinion" is not founded in the slightest... and homsexuality is not the only moral value.... other moral values im sure played a larger part such as abortion.

    >This is partially opinion, but is backed strongly by polls of Bush voters

    its not backed at all its ALL conjecture and opinion... i didn't vote for him for EITHER reason, or just one or both of those... and i doubt many did... just cause they voted for other "conservative" things doesnt mean thats why they elected bush, its bull........ speculation.

    >
    The majority of Bush voters live in places that have almost no chance of being attacked by terrorists. Pretty much all big cities went overwhelmingly to Kerry. You can examine any election results map to see this.
    <

    your point? how is this relevant? why does it matter?
    is it that you think they have no right to vote if their not directly threatened? so only people in new york can vote for anyone based on the threat of terror? only people in new york can care, or worry about it, or other people or family anywhere in the world?

    thats just an idiotic thing to say...

    damn and who are you to say what their targets are going to be? do you have any idea how terrorist operate? im assuming not.

    >
    Polls throughout the world say that people don't respect Bush. You insist that the polls say the opposite, while decrying them as worthless in the same breath. Look at any of the polls. You're wrong.
    <

    tell me where i said i the polls say the opposite? POINT IT OUT I MUST HAVE MISSED ME SAYING THAT... i said OPINION POLLS ARE BULL......... PERIOD. thats it and thats all... shut up.

    >
    There are many conservative people I've debated with who have either made me re-examine or change my views. You are not one of those, because you're just spouting the same tired crap I could see on Fox News 7 nights a week.
    <

    i dont give a crap... you cant even argue the topic, you have nothing to say and no points to make so you go off on some tanget thats totally irrelevant to the discussion and cry like a brat and insult me when i dont play you stupid games... i've answered your points twice now... and your still not gonna be ........ing happy because its not what you want... so you all can go to hell...
    ADVISORY: This users posts are rated CP-MA, for Mature Audiences only.

  11. #41
    &TH of undefined behavior Fordy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    5,786
    I think this is getting out of hand and I'd rather it close before we all upset each other.

    CLOSED

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Reading Process Memory
    By polydegmon in forum C# Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-26-2009, 07:18 AM
  2. OOP Question DB Access Wrapper Classes
    By digioz in forum C# Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-07-2008, 04:30 PM
  3. Linking problems in Visual Studio
    By h3ro in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 01:39 PM
  4. Stuck with Structs...
    By DanFraser in forum C# Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 09:55 AM
  5. C++ std routines
    By siavoshkc in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 07-28-2006, 12:13 AM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21