Public opinion reports (PIPA)

This is a discussion on Public opinion reports (PIPA) within the A Brief History of Cprogramming.com forums, part of the Community Boards category; I have heard unconfirmed reports that no-one is grossly mis-informed! READY THE TROOPS! LET'S ROLL!! edit: Unlike Saddam and 9-11, ...

  1. #16
    Just one more wrong move. -KEN-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    3,230
    I have heard unconfirmed reports that no-one is grossly mis-informed! READY THE TROOPS! LET'S ROLL!!

    edit: Unlike Saddam and 9-11, I have personally confirmed these reports.

  2. #17
    Mayor of Awesometown Govtcheez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    8,825
    > see first paragraph after the edit in my first post...

    I see. So you say the vast majority of the world respects Bush, but you're going to say any poll that says otherwise is BS? OK, where's this information coming from?

    > um... lemmie see that means terrorists don't exist and 9/11 still never happened?

    Christ, you're dense. Terrorism is a phantom fear. That doesn't mean there's no such thing as terrorists, it means that Bush can justify anything he wants using terrorism as a boogeyman. Remember the mad rush to buy plastic sheeting and duct tape? How about the always rising and falling TERRORISMOMETER?

    > they said they have documents linking Saddam to Al Qaeda

    Yeah, they were documents that said alQaeda wanted money, but they were turned down. It seems you've found the smoking gun!

    > though its unconfirmed there have been reports Saddam AT THE VERY LEAST knew about 9/11 before hand..

    It's unconfirmed but there have been reports the moon is made of cheese. Doesn't make it so. You might feel comfortable going to war on unconfirmed reports just because they say what you want to hear, but I'm not.

    > just because we can't find them doesnt prove he didnt have them any more than it proves he did...

    You're asking me to prove a negative here. That's not possible. The point stands that the UN inspectors combed that country for a long time, and our soldiers have combed it since, and have found absolutely positively jack squat. None of those "mobile WMD labs" or stockpiles have come to fruition. NONE.

    > you elect him because you believe he's the best for the job.

    What I'm saying is maybe the people that aren't jingoistic morons like yourself may have a different perspective, and you should at least pay attention to that. By saying that the world respects Bush, it's obvious you're not.

  3. #18
    Software Developer jverkoey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    University of Waterloo
    Posts
    1,903
    Personally, in my own experiences, I don't know of a single person who respects Bush, and I know a lot of people around the world because I move a lot (about once a year) and have met numerous people.

    Also, I found it really interesting that all of the states that voted a majority for Bush tended to have some of the lowest IQs in the country....oh wait, that's a poll, it must be false.

    Hmm..let's see. Facing that logic. What is a poll?

    Quote Originally Posted by dictionary.com
    A survey of the public or of a sample of public opinion to acquire information.
    The casting and registering of votes in an election.
    Hmm...so based on that definition, a poll is basically the same thing as an election....does that mean...*gasp* that maybe Bush's election could've been faked/screwed with somehow

    But seriously, the states in itself is just like crazy catholics, bossing around to everyone, regardless if they want to be "saved" or not, and forcing their own beliefs on them.

  4. #19
    Mayor of Awesometown Govtcheez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    8,825
    > Also, I found it really interesting that all of the states that voted a majority for Bush tended to have some of the lowest IQs in the country....oh wait, that's a poll, it must be false.

    Actually, I'm pretty sure most of those were actually bogus. IQ is a stupid indicator, anyways. It is interesting most of the states that voted for Bush have virtually no chance of terrorist attack. I believe DC voted Kerry something like 9:1 and New York was 3 or 4:1.

  5. #20
    Software Developer jverkoey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    University of Waterloo
    Posts
    1,903
    Hmm, well, I still find it interesting that no-one claims all polls are faked and biased completely.

    To quote more accurately:

    Quote Originally Posted by no-one
    this is just propaganda, opinion poll's are bullI am sillyI am sillyI am sillyI am silly and always will be
    Last edited by jverkoey; 02-02-2005 at 07:04 PM.

  6. #21
    Mayor of Awesometown Govtcheez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    8,825
    That's because they don't support his claim at all.

  7. #22
    Has a Masters in B.S.
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,267
    wow... this is the best you guys got?...

    >
    I see. So you say the vast majority of the world respects Bush, but you're going to say any poll that says otherwise is BS? OK, where's this information coming from?
    >
    Also, I found it really interesting that all of the states that voted a majority for Bush tended to have some of the lowest IQs in the country....oh wait, that's a poll, it must be false.

    Hmm..let's see. Facing that logic. What is a poll?
    >
    Hmm, well, I still find it interesting that no-one claims all polls are faked and biased completely
    >
    That's because they don't support his claim at all.
    <

    ...no i said opinion polls are BULL........ easily scewed slanted controlled etc... NO MATTER WHAT OPINION THE PROMOTE. THEY PROVE NOTHING i really dont remember saying they had to agree with me to be right?

    >
    Christ, you're dense. Terrorism is a phantom fear. That doesn't mean there's no such thing as terrorists, it means that Bush can justify anything he wants using terrorism as a boogeyman
    <

    well maybe when you phrase what you said differently, you might mean that... but thats not what you said... or implied.

    >Remember the mad rush to buy plastic sheeting and duct tape? How about the always rising and falling TERRORISMOMETER?
    <

    so Bush is responsible for idiots and people overreacting now too?

    >
    It's unconfirmed but there have been reports the moon is made of cheese. Doesn't make it so.
    <

    well since We landed on the moon such things are no longer confirmable...

    > You might feel comfortable going to war on unconfirmed reports just because they say what you want to hear, but I'm not.
    <

    did i say that?

    >he point stands that the UN inspectors combed that country for a long time, and our soldiers have combed it since, and have found absolutely positively jack squat. None of those "mobile WMD labs" or stockpiles have come to fruition. NONE.
    <

    you miss my point...

    >What I'm saying is maybe the people that aren't jingoistic morons like yourself may have a different perspective, and you should at least pay attention to that. By saying that the world respects Bush, it's obvious you're not.<

    take your own advice...

    >
    Personally, in my own experiences, I don't know of a single person who respects Bush, and I know a lot of people around the world because I move a lot (about once a year) and have met numerous people.
    <

    good for you, cause your liberal aquaintances speak for the world.

    >Also, I found it really interesting that all of the states that voted a majority for Bush tended to have some of the lowest IQs in the country....oh wait, that's a poll, it must be false.
    <

    well that was pointless... and the most assanine thing i've ever heard... anyone who supports bush has got to be retarded, because they dont agree with me mommy...

    >Hmm...so based on that definition, a poll is basically the same thing as an election....does that mean...*gasp* that maybe Bush's election could've been faked/screwed with somehow
    <

    well if you are completely stupid and if your trying to be an .............. on top of it, sure.

    >
    But seriously, the states in itself is just like crazy catholics, bossing around to everyone, regardless if they want to be "saved" or not, and forcing their own beliefs on them.
    <

    WOW...

    >Hmm, well, I still find it interesting that no-one claims all polls are faked and biased completely.

    did i say that?

    EDIT: apparently legitimate discussion here is at its end, so... i think im done here...
    Last edited by no-one; 02-02-2005 at 07:45 PM.
    ADVISORY: This users posts are rated CP-MA, for Mature Audiences only.

  8. #23
    Toaster Zach L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,686
    I've heard some interesting arguments for Bush. None of them I agree with (often for ideological reasons), but this one is simply inarticulate, ill-supported, and generally nonsensical. no-one, you could make a case for your point of view, but you are significantly failing to do so now.

    Cheers
    The word rap as it applies to music is the result of a peculiar phonological rule which has stripped the word of its initial voiceless velar stop.

  9. #24
    5|-|1+|-|34|) ober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    4,429
    no-one, you're either high or drunk or both. You're really off base and you are sounding more and more uninformed with every post you make.

    I agree with the last part of your last statement.

  10. #25
    Has a Masters in B.S.
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,267
    who says i'm arguing for bush?

    besides that i dont even care... none of you listen or even attempted to understand anything i said beyond what suited you... i mean damn we're barely even on the same topic as we started on... my arguements are no more "inarticulate, ill-supported, and generally nonsensical" than theirs... they're just cheap shoting now, and taking what i said out of context and twisting what i say so they can... jumping around its pointlessly stupid... they have nothing to argue... not even worth the time to "rebutt" properly...

    >You're really off base and you are sounding more and more uninformed with every post you make.

    uninformed about what? what i didn't say, what the hell...

    >no-one, you're either high or drunk or both

    no neither... but i will concede that i am in no means in my right mind.... and drop it here...

    i mean there's not even a god damned argument to support anymore because their not even talking about anything ........ing relevant to ANY arguement?
    Last edited by no-one; 02-02-2005 at 08:20 PM.
    ADVISORY: This users posts are rated CP-MA, for Mature Audiences only.

  11. #26
    Carnivore ('-'v) Hunter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,879
    >>watch the news
    Haaha, y'know, I just caught that now. I find it ironic that you take the NEWS as truth and call opinion polls bull? The news (especially in America) is about the most biased report you'll ever get, very simply because anyone who says the SLIGHTEST thing against Bush gets fired in short order. I won't vouch for the accuracy of opinion polls either, but they are as a whole usually quite close to the truth. Take a cross-section of the forums here, for example; nobody here is for Bush, but we've got at least 5 people against. Assuming CProg represents a passable cross-section of North America as well as (to a lesser degree) other parts of the world, you simply cannot say that the polls stating opinion stacked against Bush are completely false.

    >>who says i'm arguing for bush?
    You do?.. Or at least you're clearly supporting him. If there's a distinction.

    >>uninformed about what? what i didn't say, what the hell...
    Exactly. You have not said a single thing that adds support for Bush.

    >>they're just cheap shoting now, and taking what i said out of context and twisting what i say so they can
    Let's analyze where this conversation fell off from.
    Govtcheez: Rebutts most of previous arguments in a logical and articulate manner.
    JVerkoey: "I've met lots of people around the world, and nobody respects Bush."
    Others: Partially derail the thread.
    no-one: Restates point about opinion polls being bull. Starts making short comments like "did i say that?" "take your own advice.." "go cry to your mommy"

    Really, if you had just expanded your responses to clearly and coherently communicate your points rather than offering astonished interjections that pursue no apparent end, it is likely that the 'discussion' would still retain some semblance of intellect.
    Just Google It. √

    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(") This is bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

  12. #27
    Has a Masters in B.S.
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,267
    >very simply because anyone who says the SLIGHTEST thing against Bush gets fired in short order.

    HAHAHAAHAHAAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!! you need to watch more American TV. and less tabloids...

    >You do?.. Or at least you're clearly supporting him. If there's a distinction.
    >Exactly. You have not said a single thing that adds support for Bush.

    hey, im just anti-bull.........

    >Let's analyze where this conversation fell off from.

    lets be totally unobjective and ignore anything relevant...

    >
    Really, if you had just expanded your responses to clearly and coherently communicate your points rather than offering astonished interjections that pursue no apparent end, it is likely that the 'discussion' would still retain some semblance of intellect.
    <

    maybe if any one of you listen to anything anybody said...
    ADVISORY: This users posts are rated CP-MA, for Mature Audiences only.

  13. #28
    Registered User axon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    2,572
    >>The news (especially in America) is about the most biased report you'll ever get, very simply because anyone who says the SLIGHTEST thing against Bush gets fired in short order.<<

    Oh man... no-one's argument is horrible, but this statement is false beyond belief. On the ride home today from school I heard Bush getting slammed by the reporters on NPR about 10 times. On "music" radio stations DJs flame Bush all the time - I don't listen to Stern but I'm sure he does it too. I don't watch much TV, so I can't say anything definitive, but I'm pretty sure it's the same story.

    edit:: no-one, you should stop immiediately, you're giving "middle-of-the-road-but-facing-slightly-right" people like me a bad rap. So please, quit it dude.
    Last edited by axon; 02-02-2005 at 09:49 PM.

    some entropy with that sink? entropysink.com

    there are two cardinal sins from which all others spring: Impatience and Laziness. - franz kafka

  14. #29
    Toaster Zach L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,686
    no-one -- I apparently did misinterpret your posts. Perhaps you are arguing for Bush, perhaps you are arguing for jingoism, perhaps you are arguing to save the whales. What you have said is not clear. No one else is doing anything but trying to refute what you said (or what they think you said), so it isn't clear either. If you presented an argument, then perhaps a coherent discussion could be had.
    The word rap as it applies to music is the result of a peculiar phonological rule which has stripped the word of its initial voiceless velar stop.

  15. #30
    train spotter
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    near a computer
    Posts
    3,859
    Let me guess no-one you watch FOX.....(definately not PBS)

    >>The news (especially in America) is about the most biased report you'll ever get, very simply because anyone who says the SLIGHTEST thing against Bush gets fired in short order.<<

    Only certain stations (read this http://www.pipa.org/OnlineReports/I...2_03_Report.pdf pg 12)
    they tested what misperceptions viewers had...

    "the beliefs that evidence of links between Iraq and al-Qaeda have been found,
    that WMD have been found in Iraq
    and that world public opinion approved of the US going to war with Iraq."

    eg pg 13
    the beliefs that evidence of links between Iraq and al-Qaeda have been found
    FOX viewers ave. 67% had misperceptions
    ....
    NPR-PBS viewers ave. 16% had misperceptions

    Remember FOX spent years in court (fighting former employees FOX sacked for not altering a bad report on Monsanto) that it did not have to obey FCC regulations (to report the news fairly) and WON!
    Yet CBS(?) got fined US$550,000 by the FCC for allowing Janet Jacksons boob on TV.

    >>the U.S. can do whatever it wants, including ignore everybody, stomp on ANYBODY we want, and anything else that suited our whims, thats another reason other nations hate us...<<

    Sure. Just remember this will cause people to do bad things to the US and its citizens (ie S11)
    "Man alone suffers so excruciatingly in the world that he was compelled to invent laughter."
    Friedrich Nietzsche

    "I spent a lot of my money on booze, birds and fast cars......the rest I squandered."
    George Best

    "If you are going through hell....keep going."
    Winston Churchill

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Reading Process Memory
    By polydegmon in forum C# Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-26-2009, 07:18 AM
  2. OOP Question DB Access Wrapper Classes
    By digioz in forum C# Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-07-2008, 04:30 PM
  3. Linking problems in Visual Studio
    By h3ro in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 01:39 PM
  4. Stuck with Structs...
    By DanFraser in forum C# Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 09:55 AM
  5. C++ std routines
    By siavoshkc in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 07-28-2006, 12:13 AM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21