Opinions on new site design

This is a discussion on Opinions on new site design within the A Brief History of Cprogramming.com forums, part of the Community Boards category; http://thejefffiles.com/newsite/ I'm redesigning the layout for my website, and I had my friend Josh draw up a design for it....but ...

  1. #1
    Software Developer jverkoey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    University of Waterloo
    Posts
    1,903

    Opinions on new site design

    http://thejefffiles.com/newsite/

    I'm redesigning the layout for my website, and I had my friend Josh draw up a design for it....but I honestly really don't like it, it doesn't allow for any expandability whatsoever like my original design does....

    However, what does everyone else think about it? I've redesigned my site to have a more powerful management system for posting news and things like that, and the code for that is created so I could technically apply it to any design.

    So, should I just go with this design? or do you think it's too clunky to get around with and I should just keep my old design and put the new management system in to it?

  2. #2
    & the hat of GPL slaying Thantos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    5,681
    I really really really don't like it. Maybe if that page was just a front page and the links go to actual pages. But as it stands I think its awful. The information is too hard to access and read. Also my eyes didn't like it.

  3. #3
    Toaster Zach L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,686
    This design seems a bit buggy in Firefox (OSX).
    Your floating frame overlaps some of the link text, and scrolling induces some refreshing issues.

    The old design is better, though perhaps it would look a little better with brighter color (such as the blues in the new design -- not the really bright blue, though, that one is a bit annoying).
    The word rap as it applies to music is the result of a peculiar phonological rule which has stripped the word of its initial voiceless velar stop.

  4. #4
    Registered User axon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Mt. Prospect, IL
    Posts
    2,572
    I personally don't like websites like that....you have way too much info on your site for it to work efficiently. I say, try another design or two, if they wont work keep the old one, but maybe change the colors

    some entropy with that sink? entropysink.com

    there are two cardinal sins from which all others spring: Impatience and Laziness. - franz kafka

  5. #5
    Unleashed
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    1,765
    Most layouts that are pretty don't look quite as elegant once you put 200 projects in them. They're often too confining and restricted.

    Simlpe, but elegant -- always the way to go.
    The world is waiting. I must leave you now.

  6. #6
    UT2004 Addict Kleid-0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    656
    I thought it was super cool! But really buggy in Mozilla like Zach L. said. The only thing I could suggest as far as the old design, is making the menu fonts on the main page, more like bold:Arial, verdana, ya know?

  7. #7
    Crazy Fool Perspective's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,640
    strongly dislike... i think plain text might even be better than that, at least i could use my browsers search function

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    68
    No offence but I cant stand websites that have navigation like that, so i strongly dislike.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    4,913
    Yeah - I'm not liking it either. No offence, it's just a bit showy.

  10. #10
    Software Developer jverkoey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    University of Waterloo
    Posts
    1,903
    Well, no offense taken, I am completely with everyone on not liking it, heh. I've already gotten to work redesigning my main page. I'm getting rid of the color customizing thing temporarily and just sticking with the invision scheme.

    The new design's scrapped, I can't stand it

  11. #11
    5|-|1+|-|34|) ober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    4,429
    Thank god. It's hideous.

  12. #12
    Bob Dole for '08 B0bDole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    618
    I didn't think it was that bad....


    Yes I did. I usually try to be different, but I can't here
    Hmm

  13. #13
    Software Developer jverkoey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    University of Waterloo
    Posts
    1,903
    I've modified the main site's design a little bit, it looks a lot slicker than it used to now. I think I've gotten the colors sorted out a bit better now too. (Lots of ideas from Brain Cell)

  14. #14
    5|-|1+|-|34|) ober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    4,429
    Looks better..... the logo tho... it just looks cheesy as hell. No offense, but it's really hideous.

  15. #15
    Unleashed
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    1,765
    I was going to comment on the logo as well. Possibly try at least a cooling looking photoshop font job for a site title. Something sleek looking. Not specifically "cool" but maybe classy.
    The world is waiting. I must leave you now.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. my new site design
    By DavidP in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-30-2006, 11:39 AM
  2. Give me some opinions about a program's design
    By naruto in forum Windows Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2004, 09:16 AM
  3. site opinions
    By the Wookie in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-27-2003, 12:22 AM
  4. New Site Design
    By civix in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-13-2002, 12:31 AM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21