site opinions

This is a discussion on site opinions within the A Brief History of Cprogramming.com forums, part of the Community Boards category; http://www.users.cloud9.net/~khalid/slc2004/index.php its for a competition, so far only home and solutions work. the topic is that youre making a webstei ...

  1. #1
    i want wookie cookies the Wookie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    455

    site opinions

    http://www.users.cloud9.net/~khalid/slc2004/index.php

    its for a competition, so far only home and solutions work. the topic is that youre making a webstei for a company called 'presentations on demand', and they specialize in video crapbooking and that stuff. i need to add flash to the top banner, but other than that its weird. im having trouble deciphering their requirements, but i think i did an ok job

    requirements:
    1. Introduction to Web site using Flash or Flash type animation.
    2. Company Overview to include a Mission Statement, Company Services, New Products, Company History, Staff, and one other element found in a company Web site.
    3. Customer service information
    4. Client list and portfolio of presentations (March of Dimes and FBLA-PBL, Inc. are two clients). Include links, site map, FAQ's, pricing and/or rates, and contact us.
    suggestions or anything?

  2. #2
    The Defective GRAPE Lurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    949
    Sounds like they want a Flash splash page - not a banner. Otherwise, looks pretty good so far.

    EDIT: are they providing the images?
    Do not make direct eye contact with me.

  3. #3
    i want wookie cookies the Wookie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    455
    thanks.

    i took it as a banner thingy. maybe ill take out the stuff on the index page and put the flash animation there.

    nope they didnt provide anything. just the guidlines.

    Presentations on Demand is a new company in town. The company specializes in video scrapbooking, electronic presentations including PowerPointTM, and teleconferencing for corporate meetings. You have been hired to develop a complete on-line Web site and image for the company. Here are the components Presentations on Demand has requested:

    1. Introduction to Web site using Flash or Flash type animation.
    2. Company Overview to include a Mission Statement, Company Services, New Products, Company History, Staff, and one other element found in a company Web site.
    3. Customer service information
    4. Client list and portfolio of presentations (March of Dimes and FBLA-PBL, Inc. are two clients). Include links, site map, FAQ's, pricing and/or rates, and contact us.

    Create a Web site using the elements above and others you feel that will best demonstrate the company successfully.

    Please note you can substitute another service project in place of the March of Dimes.
    that was it

  4. #4
    5|-|1+|-|34|) ober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    4,429
    You're using an editor, most likely from the graphical side.

    You get docked points for that from me.

    2/10 because of it, but since it actually looks half decent, I'll give you 6/10.

  5. #5
    i want wookie cookies the Wookie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    455
    Originally posted by ober5861
    You're using an editor, most likely from the graphical side.

    You get docked points for that from me.

    2/10 because of it, but since it actually looks half decent, I'll give you 6/10.
    im using dreamweaver, and then ill be adding in the PHP sections by hand. they dont take that into account though. they mostly judge on content and then design. 75/25, judging from getting 3rd place last year, the site looked pretty bad though, but had good content.

    why is using an editor a problem?
    Last edited by the Wookie; 11-26-2003 at 05:49 PM.

  6. #6
    Banned frenchfry164's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,552
    Just as long as your're not using Frontpage, I think it's cool. I hate websites that say "Web page designed to be viewed in IE 6 at 1520x1120 resolution"

  7. #7
    i want wookie cookies the Wookie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    455
    Originally posted by frenchfry164
    Just as long as your're not using Frontpage, I think it's cool. I hate websites that say "Web page designed to be viewed in IE 6 at 1520x1120 resolution"
    frontpage..yeck

    i dont understand what some people have against WSIWYG editors though. i fyou like doing it by hand thats cool...personally i think tables and such are much easier in an editor. it is afterall, the usability that counts

  8. #8
    BMJ
    BMJ is offline
    Banal internet user BMJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    1,380
    Frontpage rules. I wish people would stop using it wrong.
    Originally posted by ober5861
    You're using an editor, most likely from the graphical side.

    You get docked points for that from me.
    I've seen your work, maybe you should look into one.

Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions on new site design
    By jverkoey in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 01-21-2005, 12:34 PM
  2. Looking for a Boolean Algebra site
    By Majin_Flack38 in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2002, 11:03 AM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21