My Web site.. Please review..

This is a discussion on My Web site.. Please review.. within the A Brief History of Cprogramming.com forums, part of the Community Boards category; Well actually not a site.. I created a template for my site from scratch using MS paint etc etc..(copied the ...

  1. #1
    Its not rocket science vasanth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,683

    My Web site.. Please review..

    Well actually not a site.. I created a template for my site from scratch using MS paint etc etc..(copied the background of cprogramming.com to get the gradient color fading stuff and changed the colours from black-grey to red-orange will surely give credits to the site)..

    I have attached my site template.. i want you to review it... Please post your comments and ways to make it better.. I guess i have messed up with tables a bit.. They are displayed on my PC right(even included a screenshot on how it looks on my PC).. In case if you find anytin wrong with my implementation of table could you please help..


    For those of you not interested in code please tell me how the design feels.. I am planin to name my page i-dea. Any base line suggestions...


    Thanx
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    2,220
    A rule of web design: text should always be in primary colours. i.e. red, blue, yellow, white, black

  3. #3
    Its not rocket science vasanth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,683
    Originally posted by Brian
    A rule of web design: text should always be in primary colours. i.e. red, blue, yellow, white, black

    Thanx... which colour would u sugges i use.... and any other suggestion.. what do u think abt the design..

  4. #4
    RoD
    RoD is offline
    Redundantly Redundant RoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    6,331
    if u think in black and white, use black and white, the colors are pretty bright lol.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    367
    Quite nice complexion of colours, perhaps a little more green/blue/brown/purple should be added in small portions (as with that "find"-button).

    As for the design, it gives me a broad feeling, but I'm sure that that will change as actual text will be added. So I guess that the initial design is pretty good.

    Just my opinion, I haven't studied web design or anything like that.

  6. #6
    RoD
    RoD is offline
    Redundantly Redundant RoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    6,331
    Design yes, color selection know. You want to target colors that are easy on the eyes and give off a comfortable vibe.

  7. #7
    Its not rocket science vasanth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,683
    thanx guys.. what colour do you recomend instead of the orange stuff... and what do u think of the logo...

  8. #8
    Pursuing knowledge confuted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,916
    I like the gradient's colors, but the background color is too bright.
    Away.

  9. #9
    Its not rocket science vasanth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,683
    what do u guys thik of sometin like this.. I have changed the colour in paint shop (screenshot).. which one do u think is good. or any other sugestion..
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    RoD
    RoD is offline
    Redundantly Redundant RoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    6,331
    Im not big on that one either. You need a backcolor that makes your font color stand out and easier to read.

  11. #11
    Its not rocket science vasanth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,683
    Originally posted by RoD
    Im not big on that one either. You need a backcolor that makes your font color stand out and easier to read.
    thats not a problem.. I could not changfe the color of the font because i was changing the colour of the entire screenshot using paint shop... What background colours would u use for that example if u were buildin a site..

  12. #12
    RoD
    RoD is offline
    Redundantly Redundant RoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    6,331
    I'm simplistic so i would probably go for a black background with a white main text, blue links, etc. It depends entirely on my mood.

  13. #13
    Pursuing knowledge confuted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,916
    the blue one isn't horrible (black text would be better with it)

    the brown one is really drab
    Away.

  14. #14
    Its not rocket science vasanth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,683
    how abt...


    edited
    ---------

    Ok removed the sky blue dot.. actually it was an ani gif where the blue dot kept flashing.. any way i want a perfect template before i start...(asking for opinions because most of you here have good home pages )
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by vasanth; 08-07-2003 at 02:51 PM.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    2,220
    Hmm... getting there. I don't like the sky blue dot.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. web site needs certificate
    By George2 in forum C# Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-22-2008, 03:25 AM
  2. Cant find a certain web site!
    By Bajanine in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2002, 02:59 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21