Could I just speak my opinion?

This is a discussion on Could I just speak my opinion? within the A Brief History of Cprogramming.com forums, part of the Community Boards category; I just wanted to show with my poll on skin colour that many people, as soon as when the colour ...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    367

    Could I just speak my opinion?

    I just wanted to show with my poll on skin colour that many people, as soon as when the colour of one's skin is discussed, connect to racism.

    Originally posted by codingmaster
    I have white skin and for me it's not important to know, whether people are white, black or brown......

    I accept them all..... and I hate rassism....
    Had racism been brought up before that?

    Originally posted by Vasanth

    Even the way you have arranged the options seems racist.. It as if you r telling the top ones are good and the bottom ones are bad..


    Cant some one delte this stupid thread..
    Well.......didn't I do the same in my hair colour poll? You didn't point that out then Vasanth. I think that if I would have arranged the options the other way around in the skin colour poll, then you wouldn't have pointed out my way of arranging them, Vasanth. Of course, I can't be sure of this, but it's what I think.

    It seems to me like to many people, eye colour and hair colour don't matter, but skin colour sure does.

    What's your skin colour?

    I just want some debate. I want some people to think again, even though I think their intentions are always good.

    I personally accept anyone regardless of eye colour, hair colour and skin colour, and disregard those three in my treatment of any person.
    Last edited by Zewu; 07-10-2003 at 09:36 AM.

  2. #2
    Mayor of Awesometown Govtcheez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    8,825
    > I just want some debate. I want some people to think again

    By asking about their eye, hair, and skin color? How does that accomplish your goal?

    > eye colour and hair colour don't matter

    Well, you're right in one area, at least.

    Seriously, those threads are spam, and no one gives a rat's ass.

  3. #3
    &TH of undefined behavior Fordy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    5,789
    If you didnt keep posting this trash maybe the threads wouldnt be closed.....I mean come on! - hair colour!! Who cares?

  4. #4
    Cheesy Poofs! PJYelton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Boulder
    Posts
    1,728
    I honestly don't see why you are surprised by that. Skin color has always been a very touchy subject for many people. You can't compare it to hair or eye color because nobody has ever been ridiculed, discriminated, or ostrocized because they had black hair or blue eyes. It doesn't make you racist making a poll like that but you have to understand that some people will be hostile to the idea of comparing skin color.

    Seriously, its like saying "Who do you believe is the best James Bond?" and "What religion do you believe in?" are going to get the same light hearted responses.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    367
    I now think that I was wrong. Well, PJYelton, I was surprised by that simply because I never considered the differences that you just pointed out, and I thank you for doing that.

    I would also like to add that I think your reply was very constructive, much more constructive than the two previous ones.

  6. #6
    Mayor of Awesometown Govtcheez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    8,825
    This is the world's smallest violin playing just for you, Whiny Mc........nmoan.

  7. #7
    Its not rocket science vasanth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,683
    well sorry if i had over reacted..
    I was sure that thread if left for a few more hours would have ended in a full flame war.. Comparing skin colour is always touchy.. what purpose does it serve any way.. We already had a poll on nationality..

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,708
    Thank you for speaking your opinion. Please die.

  9. #9
    Registered User codingmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    309

    Thumbs down

    I just wanted to show with my poll on skin colour that many people, as soon as when the colour of one's skin is discussed, connect to racism.

  10. #10
    Just a Member ammar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    953
    As I said in my post on that thread ( the closed one ): The thread is almost meaningless, but you could think of it as some sort of statistics...

    And I really cann't see why skin color is so touchy?! I think civilized people should never think of skin color like that!!
    Skin color is something that you cannot choose, you are born with a skin color that you cannot change, so why is it so touchy!!
    eye color is another thing you cannot change but it's not that touchy!!

    I realise that skin color is a touchy subject but I think that's STUPID!


    Someone said that the internet should be anonymous...
    Well, there was a poll, and nobody was forced to post anything about their skin color...
    none...

  11. #11
    Cheesy Poofs! PJYelton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Boulder
    Posts
    1,728
    In a perfect world, skin color wouldn't be touchy. But unfortunately it isn't a perfect world so just accept that any mention of it will cause issues and problems. As for why it is touchy while eye color isn't, just read my above post.

  12. #12
    It's full of stars adrianxw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    4,831
    It would be more relevent if the values were constant. For example, most of the time my eyes are very blue, but generally Saturday and Sunday mornings, red is more dominant. Same with skin really, depending on the time of year, it is a more or less brown pinky shade, but on Saturday mornings and Sunday mornings, an amount of green can be discerned.
    Wave upon wave of demented avengers march cheerfully out of obscurity unto the dream.

  13. #13
    RoD
    RoD is offline
    Redundantly Redundant RoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    6,331
    Cprog cant keep up with the sudden influx of poster stupidity.

  14. #14
    Much older and wiser Fountain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Engeeeerland
    Posts
    1,158
    Originally posted by PJYelton
    I honestly don't see why you are surprised by that. Skin color has always been a very touchy subject for many people. You can't compare it to hair or eye color because nobody has ever been ridiculed, discriminated, or ostrocized because they had black hair or blue eyes. It doesn't make you racist making a poll like that but you have to understand that some people will be hostile to the idea of comparing skin color.

    Seriously, its like saying "Who do you believe is the best James Bond?" and "What religion do you believe in?" are going to get the same light hearted responses.

    Hair colour doesnt matter? Hehe so you dont have ginger hair then?

    I dont either but boy, people that have take some stick.
    Such is life.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    4,913
    Although I think his recent polls have been quite pointless, I must agree that people are way over-touchy about racism. I don't think any race should be persecuted on the grouns of skin-color, but that's exactly why I think all the whiners are racists moreso than he. If he had arranged the options the other way around, he would've been discriminatin against me. You see how ridiculous an argument that is? So what about all the blue people? How come they don't have an option. Morons.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Popular pages Recent additions subscribe to a feed

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 03:43 PM
  2. Whaddya speak??
    By Lurker in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-08-2005, 06:52 AM
  3. Her opinion, your opinion
    By RoD in forum C++ Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-22-2002, 09:50 AM
  4. Freedom of opinion
    By Shiro in forum A Brief History of Cprogramming.com
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2002, 06:06 AM
  5. opinion about books
    By clement in forum C Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-24-2001, 04:18 PM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21